The Nile Cruise & Temples


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Upper Egypt » Aswan
July 7th 2001
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The night train was pretty good. It was clean, so I was happy. I slept for most of the trip though. In Aswan, the hotel was right next to the bazaar, so it was nice to do a little shopping.

In Aswan, we went to the Nubian Museum. I didnt find it too interesting, but then again, I just wanted to go out and see all of the temples. Our taxi driver was late in picking us up too, so it wasn't much fun roasting up in mid summer sun.

We visited the Philae Temple. We had to get a little boat out to the island that Philae is on, so it was kind of relaxing. We were the only tourists there for a while (the perks of travelling through the summer).... I loved this temple. It was so gorgeous, and being that it was morning, the sun shone on it perfectly.

One of the nights we went for a ride on the Nile onboard a felucca. It took us to a small Nubian Village, at which we were guests. It was nice to see how others in Egypt lived. It was very basic, the homes had walls, and no roof tops. The food they cooked for us was beautiful. It was the first time I had eaten well in days. After the meal, one of the ladies at the village gave us some henna tattoos.

I had an early morning, 3am. I'm not a morning person, I think I just mumbled to people until it was a reasonable hour. We went to the airport and flew down to Abu Simbel. We could actually see the temple out of the window as we were flying there.

Once we reached the temple, I was amazed at huge it was. And at the fact that the whole thing was moved and rebuilt, is quite amazing.

I was impressed, and I know that this is one of Egypt's much loved temples, but I think that Philae is still at the top of my list.

We joined our riverboat cruise. The boat had about 46 rooms, but luckly we were the only ones on baord. We visited Kom-Ombo Temple, and then went to a nice little outdoor on dirt cafe. Some people had some sheesha's, whilst I settled for a cold drink, whilst watching the giant frog near my chair.

That night we played some cards on board. Nicole had to do the 'bum dance', David had to take a fully clothed shower on the deck, and Phil couldn't talk or laugh for 15 minutes, otherwise he had to jump from the boat into The Nile. If you knew Phil, you would know how hard this was for him....

The next day we visited Edfu Temple by horse and carriage. It was pretty big, but all of the carvings on the walls, had pretty much being carved off. Robin wanted a photo of the roof in this temple, so I lay on my back to take it, and then a bat few out of nowhere, and I was out of there pretty fast.

We also went shopping to buy some tradition Egyptian clothes. Then we had an on board party. It was pretty fun, lots of fun and games, and carpet burn. Watching Phil have alcohol poured onto his grazed skin was such a laugh!

Luxor has also been a lot of fun. We visited the Karnak Temple, where Indiana Jones was filmed. It was huge. The whole set up was really nice. Went to see the Sound And Light Show there too.

We also checked out Luxor Temple, at night though. By the time we got there, it was pretty much closing time. It wasn't so big anyways, so we got through it all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb