Alexandria, first side-trip of a pan-african....full of side-trips...


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Mediterranean » Alexandria
February 26th 2010
Published: March 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Back on the road for a little pan-african trip of two weeks. This trip is actually a long serie of "side-trips". Main reason for it is the lower amount of flights available intra-africa...the fact that I'm still in the rat race for the proper miles and proper cards...as it is making such a huge difference when you travel....specially in the back of the plane.

So first stop, Egypt. Well, let me tell you that first, this entry will certainly not attract the same attention as our last one...few days ago...for sure, Ma'ri is not on the trip. I'm also eagerly waiting for Leslie next school holidays...and to hit the road the best way...three of us together!

Back to Egypt, as this is my third trip here. each trip add some new places, this time on the program it's Alexandria, and Saqqara. But for Saqqara, wait my next entry. After a night flight from Bangkok....checked-in early morning in my hotel, got a room...well...more like a flat with a view on the Nile....shower time...and ready to explore.

I let myself get lost a little to reach Ramses Square, Cairo train station. It's very easy to get tickets to Alexandria, but the next train was only 80 minutes later...guess by next train, I should say next express that the attendant would sell me. A first class return is around 16usd, and Alexandria is short of three hours to Cairo.

First good news, when you do travel in Egypt away from the hordes of tourists....well, the scammers and touts disappear also. People from Alexandria and charming and so welcoming, I was shocked, but very happy to discover this face of Egypt I hadn't encountered much before. I had a full afternoon in front of me...no map, no guide book...and a plan.

I spent some time last week in a bookshop reading the Egypt Lonely Planet to familiarise myself with Alexandria map...interesting exercice to remember a map for few days, and also to find the "what not to miss".

So on my list, the first stop was the Catacombs! These were my first catacombs and I really enjoyed the experience, sadly enough, no cameras are allowed inside. Next stop Pompey's Pillar...nothing to do with the Italian Pompei, but a huge pillar and 2 nice sphinxes in the middle of the city.

After this, I made my way to the Amphitheatre, followed by the National Museum. The National Museum is rather small, but a really little jewel of a museum.

Most of the "antique" Alexandria is actually below the modern city, so there is not a lot to visit. The National Museum is spread over three floors, pharaonic period, greco-roman period, and on the upper floor, a mix of coptic, islam and modern times. This actually summerizes pretty well Alexandria, a place of cultural encounters from many different civilizations.

In the catacombs, for example, you could see the roman statute....dress egyptian way, or should I say pharaonic style, but you do also encounter full pharaonic style.

Most of the "antiques" have actually been found under water, as with time and cataclysms, a big part of the Antique Alexandria has found itself submerged. I could have gone diving to see sphynxes...seems cool at first, but when you read further, visibility is often lower than 3 meters, counting on 1 meter visibility is safer...and I don't want to dive with a one meter visibility! So no diving, but rest assure that a lot seems to be left below water level today.

After the National Museum I finally made my way to the seashore. The promenade is a very nice place...with very few tourists. Here people are stopping you all the time, just to wish you "Welcome to Egypt"....I found this very charming and touching.

Alexandria, many of you treasures may lie out of the tourist sights forever, but your people are so welcoming and charming that I think, Alexandrians...are the treasure.

I made my way back to Cairo in the dark, ready for a good night sleep...as tomorrow is another day...and I need to enjoy a bed...when I have one!

With love from Egypt, see you very soon


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



1st March 2010

:0*
Nice blog my Love!!! We miss you a lot!!!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb