Day four in Egypt


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Giza
March 8th 2010
Published: March 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day four now racked up in Giza and moving to another Hotel in Cairo today. Joining up with a tour for the next 10 days. Have been feeling a bit unwell for the last 24 hours; I think this is the virus everyone talks about after being here for a while. Headache, Bodyache and temperature, have been trying to get loads of rest and drinking heaps of water.. A little better today so hopefully its passing in preparation for the next 10 days as I will be travelling a lot: Trains, buses and boat.

Just realised that my birthday is only a mere 3 days away on the 11th! I will be board an overnight train the night before and will awake the next morning on the 11th in Aswan: Egypt’s southern most city. There I’ll finally get to see the Temple of Isis, I can’t wait! What an extraordinary way to spend your birthday!

Had a good chuckle at breakfast this morning when I came across some Fig Jam.. It was nice, sifting through the giggles under my breath as I consumed it.. (hopefully those at home will understand the joke!). The food is strange and although most meat dishes tend to taste the same, I found happy mediums for each meal for variety. There seems to be a lot of either Olives or Olive Oil in everything much to my distaste though..

I finally managed to purchase some souvenirs, mainly for gifts for those at home. There is such a myriad of items to select from, and you really have to look around to get the best price. Have been trying to find a particular souvenir for a work colleague which I guess we assumed would be an easy item to find but certainly hasn’t - little novelty stuffed camel key ring!! Guess I’ll keep looking, I’m on a mission to find one.

You have to keep your wits and street smarts in check when it comes to money or services. My camel trek onto the Giza Plateau was quoted as LE200 (about $40 aussie dollars), but when I got back it magically jumped to LE500 (about $100 aussie dollars).. Then tipping the guide LE20, and having him complain that it wasn’t enough.. Locals, tour operators and guides tend to get very close into your personal space to see what’s in your wallet when paying for something. When you say no to a price, they tell you what they have seen in your wallet! I learned very quickly that you find out the price first then find somewhere discreet to pull it out of your wallet in advance and transfer it to your pocket, so when it comes time to pay, empty your pockets and when they ask for more you say it’s all you have! The locals are masters at trying to extort more money from you as they having being doing this for a long time. Stand your ground!

Have been snapping many photo’s of course, and in particular the other night I had the chance to watch and take photo’s of the Pyramid light show which is on nightly from my hotel’s restaurant balcony.. amazing.

Every sunrise and sunset (if not earlier) there is very loud chanting of the Koran all over Giza (comes from some kind of PA system, and it bellows out right across the city.. This morning was particularly early at 4.45am!

Not sure if I mentioned previously, but finally managed to purchase a swag of postcards and have written them out and sent them!

Until next blog...



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



8th March 2010

Your holiday
LOVE seeing the pics Jay Jay!!! It's about as close as I'll get to the pyramids... seeing them through your great pictures! You were able to portray them very well. Can you please bring me back that kitty cat with no eyes ? We'll call it Timothy xxxx

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb