First couple of days in Cairo/Giza


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Giza
March 6th 2010
Published: March 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My first word is Tired! Very tired.. The first couple of days in Egypt now racked up and with it a mixture of feelings.. Its incredibly dry and a continuous haze looms above hiding the sky. Almost everything is covered in a film of sandy dust distorting the view of anything colourful.

The first big test of courage came about yesterday. Taking an afternoon stroll down the Pyramids from my hotel which was around 30 minutes walk. Locals everywhere recognising that I am a tourist, in fact I think mostly I was the only foreigner amongst the bustle of the main street leading down to the Giza Plateau. Constantly being stopped to buy something or offers of directions or to get a taxi for me. All ploys to gain gratuity. Some often lying tome saying that they were from the government and were wanting to assist me. Tourism Police (yep they have police special for that) everywhere on every corner about 200-400 metres apart.. Military presence is extraordinary (armed with weapons) and everywhere I looked.

Getting through being constantly stopped by locals was the hardest part.. Finally get to the Pyramids of which is closed for the day (I knew it was closed,was officially going the next day) to be marveled by the size fore mostly, then just to be standing in their majestic presence... Thousands of years of ancient history before me.. I stand mostly in awe for a brief time to take it in...

Aghast at the price of industrialisation.. Modernisation right up to almost the base of the pyramids, then surrounded by high brick walls, the foundations beneath the great Pyramid falls away only metres away into modern Giza.. Frightening that space is such a commodity that it is being absorbed right up to the Plateau.. A real shame.. Tomorrow I go in to explore, I can't wait... the moment I have dreamed about all my life..

Local supermarkets abound with everything a coles or a woolworths would have, just unrecognisable brands! I am onto my 8th 2 litre bottle of water in only 36 hours.. Thirst and dry throat is driving me nuts.. It is dry to breathe with extremely low levels of humidity..

I'm in awe of the traffic conditions and I am truly amazed and astounded that there aren't more accidents or pedestrians being hit with the way locals drive.. No road lanes, just everyone squeezing in for a position sometimes up to 5 cars wide on what otherwise would be a 2 lane road. No one indicates, just everyone sounding their horn.. As of now from my hotel room, all I can hear are the hundreds of horns coming from the street below..

Late tomorrow I'm also heading up to Alexandria and will attempt a train ride.. A 2 hour journey at around $10 for a first class carriage!

Until next I write..

Seeya later alligator..


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb