Cairo day 1 of our trip


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
October 16th 2012
Published: October 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Started off early this morning to get to Giza to see the pyramids. Arranged a taxi from our hotel but think we got stung as cost us $50 to get there and back. Once at Giza you realise how strange it is to be standing at the gate to the dessert with thousands of years of history in front of you and a KFC behind you 😊 decided to make our own way round the Giza area but got hassled every step of the way to buy souvenirs, have our pictures with a camel (for a fee of course) & have a guide (though of course everyone says they are not a guide and are only trying to help you then they ask you for money for providing information that is quite easily worked out yourself!!) despite the constant hasseling it's worth the trip Only costs £6 to go in and get to see sphynx and the 9 pyramids. It's a further £5 entry for the boat museum which didn't really interest me but my BF seemed to like it.

After our trip to the pyramids we decided to go to the museum and got to see the mask and caskets of Tutankamun which really was quite good - probably could have given rest of the museum a miss personally as just millions of statues!!



Cairo is a very busy city with cars all cramming in to the tiniest of spaces, I thought I was a dangerous driver but you've seen nothing tyou com come here. The people always hasselling us is very annoying and if I were a woman travelling alone I wouldn't stay anywhere unless it was 5 * and I had my own driver to take me everywhere. been an interesting day and looking forward to going to Luxor next for the valley of the kings

Advertisement



16th October 2012

Hehe I giggled through this blog! Love it. Sounds fun Hun. Keep it up! I love reading these makes me feel like your chatting to me ;) xx
16th October 2012

Glad you enjoyed ur first day and got to see everything you wanted to. I was very excited to see you had written ur first blog. Hope your hotel is nice : )

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0756s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb