Arrival in Cairo, Egypt


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
February 18th 2012
Published: February 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Heliopolis, Cairo, EgyptHeliopolis, Cairo, EgyptHeliopolis, Cairo, Egypt

Heliopolis, Cairo, Egypt
Aloha, Marhabah and Salaam!!!

Well, I have been in Egypt for a little over a week now. Internet access took awhile to show itself. Possibly because there were other things I was supposed to be doing besides being online. 😊

There have been so many changes within me so fast. Every day is like two or three days all wrapped up into one. Some days, to the onlooker, it may look like I (or we) am doing nothing, but the reality is that there is so much energy work being done just by my being here, it's astounding! I already was shown that I am traveling about re-activating a grid I laid many, many years ago and by the feel of things, there is no denying it!

I spent my first two days in Egypt in a neighborhood in Cairo called Heliopolis. It was a place I was guided to go to just marinate in the juices of the area. I stayed at a great hotel called Le Meridien. The people there were very friendly, happy to see tourists, I am sure. I was met inside the airport, before all the Visa and Customs stops, and guided through
Le Meridien, HeliopolisLe Meridien, HeliopolisLe Meridien, Heliopolis

Le Meridien, Heliopolis
easily and quickly with 'Acceled Service' as my guide called it.

Then, I was led outside to the hotel shuttle and taken there for checkin and much needed sleep! The flight had landed almost an hour late and I arrived close to 11:00pm Cairo time after almost 24 hours of travel.

The next morning ... well, afternoon to be honest ... I went downstairs to the lobby to check out the shops. There was only one open! The rest are undergoing some sort of reconstruction. Anyway, I purchased my first Egyptian-made product: a Cartouche. This is a necklace (or bracelet) that is personalized to you, with your name printed out in Egyptian Hieroglyphs. It's very pretty and the Silversmith, Hussein ("Not Saddam Hussein", he said, laughing), took time to explain the different Hieroglyphs and their meanings. If you come to Cairo, be sure to check him out at the Le Meridien Hotel.

He thought that 'Sue' was too short of a name to make the Cartouche, and so after looking at my full name and last name and the possibility of adding the Anch or Eye of Ra etc, I decided upon a Cartouche that reads only
CartoucheCartoucheCartouche

My 'Divine' Cartouche
"Divine". I felt it was appropriate. 😊

The next morning, I checked out and headed back to the Cairo airport to fly out to Aswan and meet my friend Cindy and her husband Ashraf. And then the fun began!!!

Stay tuned for more blogs and pics.

Blessings, Aloha and Namaste,

Sue Divine

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb