Weekend Trips


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
August 2nd 2010
Published: August 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post


The smog polluted air of Cairo filling your lungs, the sound of the never ending honking of the cities traffic invading your thoughts and the same routine every weekend can get to be a bit too much for anyone. It’s hard to find some where quiet and peaceful where you can shut out the chaotic madness of the city and enjoy the simpler and less stressful things in life.
If you haven’t heard about ‘Weekend Trips’, you are truly missing out on a great get away, even if it’s just for a day. Having lived in Cairo for five years, I have to get out of the city every couple of weekends to breath clean (or should I say, cleaner) air and to have a change of scenery. Alexandria would usually be the destination of choice but thanks to weekend trips, I am becoming spoilt for choice!
A friend of mine had gone on a Sandboarding trip with the group and came back raving about how much fun he had and how he couldn’t wait to try it again. I value my friend’s opinion a great deal, so, I decided to try it out for myself. I booked my first tour with them and that was to Mo’ez Street, in Islamic Cairo. I wasn’t expecting very much but I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. The Weekend team, were very friendly and helpful. The team leader, Yehia El Decken, but goes by ‘Bob’ has a way of breaking the ice and making you feel like he’s an old friend whom you haven’t seen in a while. The ride to the destination was very comfortable and the team provides you with water, fresh croissant and juice. An Egyptologist comes on board to guide you through the streets that are enriched with years of fascinating history.
My Second trip with the group was a hike up the chain of Red Sea Mountains from Ein El Sokhna. Once again the team was very efficient and accommodating to the people who had signed up for the hike. Before boarding the bus we were given supplies of food and water to take with us in our backpacks and on the bus we were given a run down of the itinerary of the day as well as some very helpful pointers of what do when hiking. I have hiked before, but this was a tough hike. The hike started off at a steep incline and eventually evened out. For those who had never been hiking before a team member hiked a long side them and kept encouraging them to keep going but at their own pace. For those who were more experienced, nimble and adventurous they went ahead with the senior leader, who took them on a more challenging route.
Lunch was provided and cooked for us on top of one of the mountain tops. I never once thought that I would be able to say this but, I have had barbequed hot dogs on top of a mountain! I don’t think many people can say that. On the way down we took a detour to where a waterfall once flowed and it was in that moment when a group of strangers united to help one another climb up the rocks to where the tip of the fall had once been. It was not only a spectacular site to behold but it was also a great experience.
The strenuous activity of the day had drained me of energy, but it had some how rejuvenated my senses. It must have been the fresh sea and mountain air as well as the beautiful view from the top of the mountain. I couldn’t wait to find out when and where the next trip was.
The Third trip that I went on had always been a dream of mine to do, but I could never find anyone willing to do it with me. My dream had been to go horse back riding in the desert by the pyramids. The stables where we started our adventure were in Sakara, The place is not easy to get to. So, the team had set up a meeting point for everyone to meet up at and then drive in convoy to the ranch. What I really liked about the place was that the horses and grounds were we very well looked after and trained. The guides who came with us out on the expedition were very friendly and helpful too. Their main concern from beginning to end was the enjoyment and safety of the riders.
The view of the majestic desert on horse back makes you feel as though you’re apart of a desert caravan or that your on some Indiana Jones Adventure. The idea of riding so close to the Sakara pyramids was mind blowing. The stillness and silence of the desert was a welcome change to ones ears.
I think the idea of getting out of the city and out of your comfort zone to try something new is a great idea. It’s a fun way to see parts of the country that you would probably never even consider seeing and it’s also a great way to meet people from different culturs and professional backgrounds.
What I like about the Weekend Trips is not only the fact that I am getting to see Egypt through a different perspective and meeting new people but it’s affordable.
I would highly recommend that you give it a shot, since I’ve started going I’m hooked. I feel like I’m a junkie waiting to get my next weekend fix!
If you would like to find out more about weekend trips do a search for them on Facebook. They have two groups. They keep all their members updated with frequent messages inviting them to different weekend excursions.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb