How to walk like an Egyptian


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
April 12th 2010
Published: April 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Trek Through Egypt


Aussies, Kiwis, and North Americans -- Oh My.

The best holiday I've taken so far. Not because it was the most relaxing, or because it was the most posh, but rather because it was the most eventful and most adventurous.

Surrounded by some of the friendliest folks I've ever met, I could not have picked a better lot of people to spend 15 days with. Two weeks spent in close quarters with the same people is not without its memorable moments; drama over drinks, people's personalities, and loveable laughter. Historically important places only once seen in history books and tv channels of discovery and learning were now among us; in our faces and completely tangible.

In the beginning:

After having been on cold holidays so far this year, I welcomed the 40+ degree heat and sunshine in Cairo with open arms. Clothes and toes dusted with the honey-colored desert were only a small price to pay to be able to see and feel history with my own eyes.

When I was a young child (probably younger than 10 years old though I'll never know for sure), I remember telling my Mama that I wanted to be an 'archaeologist' when I 'grew up'. There was something about dinosaur bones and finding things that were from before my time that fascinated me. She told me there was no money in it and I quickly abandoned the idea.




The Egyptian Museum; Edfu Temple; Hatshepsut's Temple; Karnak Temple; Abu Simbel; The Pyramids of Giza; The Sphinx.

'Egyptian exhibitions' at North American or European museums could not hold a candle to the the feeling of sitting at the base of the Pyramids of Giza, one of the 7 wonders of the ancient world, older than the story of Jesus. Though there are many pyramids that are famous in their own right, and even having visited them as well (in Las Vegas and the Louvre), it's quite a surreal feeling to stand in the same air, covered in the same dust as The Pyramids of Giza.

Arguably just as famous as the Pyramids, visiting the Sphinx was just as surreal. Surrounded by other tourists, we all took our 'kiss' pictures with the Sphinx ('Girls only', so they say), and took in two of Egypt's most famous sites in all its grandeur.

Barefoot children as young as 6 zig-zagged among the tourists; either hoping to sell their 'papyrus' bookmarks, or amaze us with their accordioned postcards enough to be able to separate us from our Egyptian pounds (approx 8.5 LE to 1 GBP).



Coming from a western society, it was interesting to find that children, both little boys and girls were 'equal'; they were both equally barefoot and dusty and equally as aggressive in peddling their wares. They were both equally responsible in selling and making money.

But why were adults not as equal? After sundown, only males can be seen in social settings. I rarely saw a woman working in a shop or outside after dark.

Reversi:
In North America, there is a clear division among children; girls are arguably nurtured to be pretty, proper and pink, and boys to be dirty, rough and tough.

But when a difference is obvious in the formative years, why was equality then sought in adulthood?; Shattered glass ceilings, equal pay for equal work, a female goalie on an NHL team.

Another discussion for another time, I suppose.


Outside the Comfort Zone:

Sailing on a fellucca, Swimming in the Nile; Snorkelling in the Red Sea; Climbing Mt. Sinai; riding through the desert on a quad-bike (ATV)

Two nights sailing on the Nile River in a felucca was one of my most favourite experiences in Egypt. We got to know each other pretty well; 18 people living on a boat for 3 days is as close as you can get. Add alcohol to that mix of personalities, and well, you too can get to experience one of the highlights of my trip.

One of the luckier ones, I never got 'sick' on the felucca. There were some who were sleeping bag-ridden for most of the ride while I was bathing in the hot sun and cooling off in the waters of the world's longest river.

Living in camping-like conditions makes more some funny stories over 3 days.
- The sandy desert is literally treated like a litter box (ew).
- I've seen way too many people squatting with pants down to their ankles than I'd like
- Boys carrying toilet paper and walking off to the trees is always a funny sight
- Never be down-wind from a boy peeing off the side of the felucca
-



Before I embarked on this Egypt trip, I knew there was an optional trek to Mt. Sinai to see the sunrise. I told myself that I would do it. I had to. After all, it was where the story of Moses and the 10 commandments happened. And back home in Toronto, we have those 10 commandments, cracked and put back together 😉.

For some odd reason, I decided that I would be okay going up 3000 metres with just a t-shirt and a scarf in the early hours of the morning. Stepping outside the van, I was quickly made aware of this mistake. I noticed some little shops and decided to check if they sold sweaters or something..anything to keep me warm. I approached the only one with a vendor present, who was half asleep as well.

I asked him if he sold sweaters, and he showed me this weaved/knitted poncho type of garment which was a) too big for me and b) not really helpful when you're trying to keep your balance on a climb/hike. Then he seemingly had an A Ha! moment. He dug into his own bag of things and pulled out his OWN zip-up sweater and asked me to put it on. I was touched at the gesture, and as he put it on me, he asked me to promise to give it back to him in the morning, as he bid me adieu with a 'God Bless You'. I almost cried. Probably not a surprise since I cry at lots of things.

But there was something magically beautiful about being at the foot of Mt. Sinai, tired and cold, while literally being given a shirt off someone's back and told 'God Bless You' in a predominantly Muslim country. You cannot make something like this up.

The three-hour hike started at about 1 am, and with the help of our Bedouin guide we'd reach the summit just before sunrise. These Bedouin guides, dressed in traditional clothing and sandals can literally run up and down this mountain, no problem. It's like they KNOW where to step with their eyes closed.

Three quarters of the way up the mountain was fine, until we reached the beginning of approximately 750 stair-like steps, winding its way to the top. Try climbing this in the dark, with only a flashlight and all your trust in the person in front of you and behind you.

The top was cold, very cold. Probably less than 5 degrees celsius. A huge difference from the 40 degree days we had before. I sat there, wrapped in my sleeping bag, thinking about what I'd just done. Literally, I'd just climbed a mountain. Though not impossible by any means, it was still a mountain nonetheless. Figuratively, I just did something no one else had done; at least no one else I knew before this trip. Pretty proud of myself.

There were two ways down; 1) the same way you came up, or 2) the faster way, which was 3000 steps down. I took the 'easier' of the two. The Bedouin guide, already familiar with my turtle pace coming down from the summit even suggested that I avoid the 3000 steps and go back the way I came. =)

St. Catherine's Monastery sat a the bottom of Mt. Sinai. It holds documents of religious importance second to those in the Vatican. Too bad it was closed.



After Sir James and I came back from our trek to Mt. Sinai, we rested for a few hours and then it was off to the desert in quadbikes (ATVs). I was a bit nervous since every drop of adventure I had in my blood was being tested on this holiday (snorkelling, then Mt. Sinai, and now quad-biking?). I had abandoned all responsibility and decided that on this trip, I will seize all opportunities.

Covered in scarves (I looked like a burn victim) to shield our faces from the dust, we set off single file onto the main roads and then into the desert. I soon earned the nickname 'Daisy', from the movie Driving Ms. Daisy, since the boys decided I was going too slow for their liking and was literally eating their dust (which was fine by me). Later on, Alyce, the only other girl with me, hit a rock, fell off the bike, which then rolled on to her. She was nicknamed 'Tumbles' shortly after.

After the adventure in Dahab, everyone was talking about where they were off to next, some were off to more of the middle east, Jordan, Syria, Turkey. Others to Greece and India. And others, back home to start work on the Monday.
My old roomMy old roomMy old room

I hate packing

The days after were a blur, a mix of relaxation and sadness that the trip was almost over. Made some great friendships and we promised to have a reunion in London this summer. Fingers crossed.

-=-

These first few photos were taken by other people. I've taken about 700+ photos which will have to wait til I get my laptop back.

Nutshell

Cities visited:

Aswan
Cairo
Dahab
Luxor
Giza
Hurghada

Historical sites:
Edfu Temple
Karnak Temple
Hatshepsut's Temple
Abu Simbel
Egyptian Museum
Pyramid of Giza
Sphinx



Waterworks:
The longest river in the world, The Nile
The Red Sea

Mountain:
Mount Sinai

Misc:
About the Bedouin
Felucca


Additional photos below
Photos: 103, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

Picture-003 nPicture-003 n
Picture-003 n

my backpack. I will never travel with a rolly suitcase ever again.
Egyptian MuseumEgyptian Museum
Egyptian Museum

Egyptian Museum


14th April 2010

one word. AMAZING!!!!!!!
19th May 2010

Hotel Indiana!!
I stayed at that hotel a couple times. LOL Wow,...I was cracking up when I recognized the lobbey. :) Noreen
22nd May 2010

BEST HOTEL EVER!!! =P
22nd May 2010

Scarves
Hellooooo from California! ha ha ha ha The scarves picture was a great laugh. :) I freakin LOVE Egypt. Been twice. Tour peeps and locals were a BLAST! Noreen
23rd May 2010

I loved Egypt too. Miss it so much. Where else in the world have you travelled?? - M

Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb