I made it to Cairo!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
March 28th 2010
Published: March 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Me and Grandma Mae Me and Grandma Mae Me and Grandma Mae

Doesn't Grandma look pretty?!
Well, I made it! My flights were both quite enjoyable, especially my flight with Turkish Airlines. If you ever have the change, I highly recommend it! As you can see from my picture, the in-seat screens featured not only movies and television shows (including Bones!) but also video games! Have you ever heard of such a thing? They had little remotes that looked very much like the Nintendo controllers from the 80s and it was awesome. I didn't actually play Mini-golf, or any of the other games, because I was already flying high on my anti-anxiety medication. As we took off, I forced myself to pay really close attention to every (terror-inducing) sensation and I told myself again and again that I loved the feeling, that it was exhilarating and wonderful. I made myself like sushi that way, I bet I can make myself like flying again that way! The food was quite delicious and my seat neighbor was a pleasant Turkish civil engineer. All in all, good times! The flight from Istanbul to Cairo was not quite as amazing, though it was certainly not bad. I sat next to an Egyptian man who let me have some of his newspaper
Mini-golf??Mini-golf??Mini-golf??

Go Turkish Airlines!
and answered a couple of silly questions about Arabic for me.


Getting into Cairo wasn't a problem, but getting out of the airport turned out to be a little difficult. It seemed that my driver missed me somehow and left without me. I would have been in much worse shape, except that this quite good looking and enjoyable Egyptian tour guide was the knight-in-shining-armor to my damsel-in-distress. He figured out how to get a hold of my driver, called him and told him to get back to the airport, then sat and chatted with me for nearly an hour while I waited for my driver to return. We talked about religion--he's a Sunni (firm believer, looser practitioner) and his boiled down critique of Shi'ism is that Ali was a baby when Muhammad (peace be upon him) was reciting the Holy Qur'an. I think that he may have been missing some key plot points in the origin and rationalization of Shi'ism, but his point of view was fascinating! Of course, my interest may have been due in part to his ravishing good looks and the fact that we actually make each other laugh, something I have discovered can be
I love Turkish Airlines!I love Turkish Airlines!I love Turkish Airlines!

Free travel kit, complete with lip balm, eye mask, ear plugs, tooth brush, tooth paste, and comfy socks!
quite challenging cross-culturally and cross-linguistically. So even though I had to spend an extra hour at the airport, it was really quite good. On the drive back, I met Muhammad Karam, my driver, and his friend Mahmoud, who is studying English at the university. We exchanged e-mail addresses so that we might get together sometime for lunch or something and work on our language skills together, since I'm fluent in English and of course he's fluent in Arabic.


After a day in a somewhat sketchy hotel, I have finally arrived at the International Language Institute, where I begin my Arabic classes tomorrow. I tested into Arabic 2.5, which doesn't exist, so I had to choose to be in a class that would be somewhat remedial or a class that would be quite challenging. Knowing me, I'm sure you can guess which one I picked...

(This is me allowing you time to guess...)

Yes! Of course I picked the harder one...it's a decision that I already regret a little and will no doubt regret a whole lot more before it's all over, but I think it's the right thing for me. I'm a fast learner and I get bored in classes that don't challenge me. Even in the Arabic classes I took at Cornell I got bored at times because we had to cover the same material multiple times so that everyone in the class understood it. And I know myself well enough to know that I do better when I'm feeling overwhelmed and at the end of my rope than when I'm bored out of my mind and not learning anything!




Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

My travel companionMy travel companion
My travel companion

This was the guy that gave me part of his newspaper. Kind of cute, yeah?
My sketchy hotelMy sketchy hotel
My sketchy hotel

Entry way--it was actually a really big room!
My sketchy hotelMy sketchy hotel
My sketchy hotel

hallway to the bathroom and bedroom
Just colors, I guessJust colors, I guess
Just colors, I guess

Hey, I thought it was pretty...
Me on my balconyMe on my balcony
Me on my balcony

This is still the sketchy hotel, but nice view, huh!
My SUPER SKETCH toiletMy SUPER SKETCH toilet
My SUPER SKETCH toilet

What exactly is that? If anyone knows, please tell me...I thought it was like the creepiest thing that ever happened. It was a...metal snake the faced up toward my bottom...well, I covered it with toilet paper before engaging the facilities, for fear that it was alive!
Semi-automaticSemi-automatic
Semi-automatic

Both reassuring and disconcerting... You can't quite make it out, but this was a police officer, just chilling on the corner with his semi-automatic weapon...
ILI!ILI!
ILI!

My room for the next two months!


28th March 2010

Hooray!
I am so glad you made is safely. Your room looks beautiful. The sun streaming through the window is lovely, and what a view!! I think you made the right call when you selected the more advanced class. This is such an expensive opportunity, I think you would be sorely disappointed if you felt like even a single class period was a waste of time. You look pretty in your scarf! The girls at school wear something under their hijab so their hair doesn't show, is that a big deal? Nasareen and I are going to Al Markaz to eat this week and we are going to check out that cute Middle Easter Boutique next door :) I want to know how to say, "I love you sister" in Arabic. I know uchti is sister, but how do I say I love you?
28th March 2010

Blog Name Idea
You should name your travel journal "Abog's Travel Blog" you know, because your initials spell ABOG and it rhymes with travel blog!! Ok, Ok, so maybe no one would get it, and that defeats the purpose of a title, but hey maybe if we all just start calling you A-bog (you know like A-rod) it will catch on!!! haha! love you! xoxox
28th March 2010

Eye on you!
Hey Alida!! Great pics! I hope you have a fabulous time while you're there. I am confident that you will learn much and very proficiently. I will be following your blog religiously, hope to see some scenic photos. Be good, be careful and be smart!! Love ya, Conan
29th March 2010

Really glad to hear that the trip went well and you got there safely. I'malso glad that we can follow you through your blog. I'm talking to Mike, so I gave him the blog address. He seemed glad to get it. Were you able to understand Arabic enough to figure out what people were saying?
29th March 2010

Rhymes with 'what the hay???'
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bidet This will explain the details of the metal snake in your toilet. It didn't catch on in America but you'll see it throughout Europe and some places in the Middle East. Of course if it moves around and has a flickering tongue it might be something else.

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0873s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb