EGYPT -- Land of Mystery


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
October 27th 2009
Published: October 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

LUXORLUXORLUXOR

LUxor Temple
Visited Egypt dated back 5 years ago when I have just completed my high school at age 17 yrs old. It was a trip which I have longed wanted to visit.

My mum asked me: '' Son, where do you want to go this time?''
I didnt need time to think and replied casually :'' Egypt!''

and the next thing i knew was i was on my way to Egypt-- the mysterious land in which when I was young, I had this mindset that Egypt is full of mummies and spiderwebs, etc.

I sat Qatar Airways... Singapore -- Doha-- Luxor. the preferred 5 star airline they claim. No offence, just personal opinions, I dun think it does live up to its name. But overall, is a comfortable flight.

After transit over Doha Airport, which I must mentioned it was rather new but not too big. The urinal I believed was made for bigger build of the Europeans and Middle -Easterns... As for Asians like me, I find it rather high for me to use.

Anyway, I reached Luxor Intl Airport after some issues on board whereby people were shouting after this man switched on his hp and laptop when the aircraft was about to land. ''Don't switch it on, it will kill us. '' exclaimed one of the passengers. But to dismay, the african simply did not care....

The moment I step down from the aircraft, I just wanted to rush back to the cabin because it was simply too hot for me to take. Although I come from a summer country all year round--Singapore, where daily average temp hovers around 33 degree. but this heat in Egypt is just too unbearable for me.

I realized it was a freaking 38 degree! But all I could want to do was take cover! Reached hotel Luxor, facing the Nile River... world famous river.... and thought to myself: '' Now, I am looking at the river which I just stuided in my school days~! and appear in my exam papers. ''

One thing I noticed: EGyptians watch spanish soccer?? I could see REAL MARAID FC all over the place... anyway, we had dinner over at the hotel. Where we were constantly reminded ''DO NOT DRINK THE TAP WATER. BUY BOTTLE WATER.'' and while having dinner, the hotel lights tripped and there we are having candle light dinner instead. Nice experience =)

And while sleeping in the night, the TV and lights just switched on by itself and I thought the room was dirty. But the very next day, I realized it was because there were power failure, causing the lights and TV to restart and thus switched on. phew...

Shopped along the stretch of bazzar and the locals were very friendly. they asked me :'' From China, Japan, Taiwan? oh, I know Jackie Chan.'' haha... this is very cute. Singapore? Where is it? =)

They asked our name and we simply gave. And just before I leave their shop, they would say XXXX (name), Have a nice day. Enjoy EGYPT! and there I was, fallen in love with their friendliness.

Noon time-- Embarked onto the River Nile Cruise. Many curises of the same size anchor along River Bank... and we found our ship finally after some time... phew, it was tough to find your own cruise ship. So make sure you know what is the name of your cruise ship and the exact location each time you disembark for sight-seeing. This is important. Or else if the ship moves off, I have nothing to say.

It was a nice cruise along the river. Loved the dinner where everyone dress formally or rather in nicer dress... and enjoy show and dinner. Very friendly waiters.

LUXOR TEMPLE is NICE.

and the best musuem i must say in the world or rather so far I have gone to is EGYPT NATIONAL MUSUEM

Pyramid -- MUST SEE.


Additional photos below
Photos: 123, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb