One month left...ahh!!!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
November 24th 2008
Published: December 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So as of yesterday, I officially only have one month left here in Cairo. I can't believe that its almost time to go home already! Well, what did I do this week? On Thursday I went to Alexandria with Holly and Karl and it was GORGEOUS! Maybe because we were coming from Cairo, it had a very European flair...as Holly put it, it would be a great place to go to write a book! We took the train in on Thursday night, and then went to a dive bar named Spitfire, which was pretty cool (Holly and Karl had found it last time they were in Alex). On Friday we did all of our exploring, and all of our eating...no really, we went from eating at one place to the next to the next. It was all delicious, but by the end of the day we all felt like beached whales. We saw the library, which is a rebuilt, modern structure, but it was still cool to think that the original library had been there. At one point there were more books in the library than were in print (yay doubles!). We also wandered around some local neighborhoods and by the sea. The ocean looked amazing, we spent some time on the terrace of a restaurant (The Fish House) just watching the view. We took the bus back to Cairo at around 1 am (Egypt time...nothing is ever exact!) and at one point there was a shouting argument, though we never figured out what the two men were fighting about.
On Saturday I went to the airport to pick up Kristin (I am so amazed I actually found her!) who is here visiting until December 1. We kind of just hung out on Saturday (I drug her to the mall...yay western style malls!) and have plans to do all the Egypty things throughout this week. Its soooo cool to see her, though it will be weird once she leaves, because that really will mean its almost time to go home!
With the semester winding down there are only a few more weekends of travel left. Next weekend we are going to the Black and White desert (cool rock structures, cool sand, ect) and then the weekend after I leave for Turkey. We have a week break from classes the first week of December for a Muslim holiday, and I'm spending that week in Istanbul with Holly and two other girls. After I get back from Istanbul there are only 3 days of classes left, and then finals. That last week will be crazy (last minute shopping, the nightmare of packing!) and I feel like its going to be a weird mix of time flying by and not going quickly enough.
Well, I have to go now, but I'll try to update more soon, I will definitely be putting more pictures up!


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb