Cairo Museum & The Pyramids


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
July 2nd 2001
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So the other day we woke up early and went to the Hilton for breakfast. After that we went across the street to the Cairo Museum. On the way there (during the 30 second walk), it was the first time I saw the tourist police. They were carrying machine guns, so it was a little weird.

The museum was pretty crowded, but that didn't bother me too much. Only when a tour group of about 30 Europeans stood around points of interest for 10 minutes at a time.

It took us quite a long time to look around the first level. There was so much to see, but yet, it was so disorganised. I was impressed with everything though.

We went up to the second level, and it was pretty much dedicated to King Tutankhamen's treasure's. The mask was amazing, and everything else up there was too.

They had a room there where you could go in and see some mummies. I think Rameses was there, one of them anyways. It was an interesting experience.

After we looked around the first floor, we took a break at the cafe they have there. Anyways, I needed to use the bathroom. So I went there, and there was this guy standing there, and he told me I need to pay to use the bathroom. So I went back to my bag, gave him some money, and he handed me like three pieces of paper. Yeah, I was impressed.

So anyways, he stands right outside of the door. You think it was easy to pee, knowing there is a man standing in the same room as you? haha

So when I came out, this guy comes up to me. He started asking me questions like, "where are you from? how old are you? boyfriend? married?'. I was about to leave when he shook my hand, and leaned over to give me what I thought was going to be a kiss on the cheek. But no, he went for my lips! I wasn't out of there fast enough. There were two girls from Europe on the table opposite us, who looked at me with a look of, 'I know what your going through'. They went to the bathroom just before me.... hahahaha

Later that night, we decided that we would go and see The Pyramid Sound And Light Show. We arrived there just as the sun was setting, so it was a beautiful sight. They are so huge! I cant even begin to explain.

Anyways, I thought that the show itself wasnt that good, but it was good experience anyways.

It's been a busy past few days. We took a trip out to Saqqara and Memphis. The Step Pyramid was much bigger than I expected it to be. Whilst there, we went into an underground tomb, and the guy who led us there kept telling me to get into the coffin for a photo. Ah, he was funny, especially when he asked for that hefty tip!

I saw a lady riding a camel. Now before I left for Egypt, I said there was no way that I would be riding one. But this lady was having so much fun, that I though I would try it out. Such a good experience! Although when they stand up, they almost flick you off them.

Memphis was really small, and I wasn't too impressed with it.

We visited the Citadel. It was so beautiful. I really liked it. I took my shoes off, put on a gown, and went inside. We sat in there for a while, and just took everything in. There were great views of Cairo from there too.

Next to the Citadel was the Military Museum. We went through it, but it wasn't really my thing....

The City of the Dead was ok. We walked along some rooftops, and met some nice people. It was kind of hard to see the way the people there were living there though. A simple life, but they were always smiling and so friendly.

After that we just headed back to the hotel for dinner and an early night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb