The Way to Egypt


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
May 29th 2008
Published: May 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On July 12, 2007 I took my last steps on Egyptian soil as I crossed the tarmac at the Cairo airport and set foot onto the steps leading to our plane. I cried as I made my way onto the plane. I was glad to be returning home to Hans, but I was conscious of the feeling that I was leaving a part of myself behind.

As I sat in my seat waiting for the plane to take off, I looked out the window and wondered how I could return? When could I get back to this place where I had been so alive? In some corner of my brain I probably wondered if I couldn't come back again in 2008, but I'm not sure I ever believed it was really a possibility.

When I came home, all I could think about was returning and so I began to pray (in the words of Parker Palmer) for a "way open." Might there be a way to return to Egypt sooner, rather than later? Way open, Lord. Might there be a way for me to make time in Egypt a part of every year? Way open, Lord. Might there be a way to begin to embrace the calling that I felt so clearly while I was in Egypt to build partnerships between Egyptian and American Christians? Way open, Lord.

Here I sit on May 29th, preparing to return to Egypt in just 12 days and I can't help but think that God has been opening this way for me. Going to Egypt last summer was the fulfillment of a life-long dream. But returning to Egypt again and embracing that place as a part of my life and my call is an unexpected blessing . . . pure grace.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb