Egypt Trip Feb 2008


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
February 11th 2008
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hotel HavanaHotel HavanaHotel Havana

Amanda striking a pose on the beds at Hotel Havana.
Amanda and I set off for Egypt on the 11th February 2008. Our flight from Abu Dhabi was approximately 4 hours and was fine. I wasn't too keen on the plane food after my vomiting spree from Singapore to Abu Dhabi, so I just ate the pita bread and hommos yummmmm!

We flew into Cairo airport and a partially cloudy day. We didn't get a view of the pyramids but the earth beneath was a goldy/ orange colour (desert colour). Once we arrived our tour guide collected us and took us through customs. Visas were $15 US or approximately 85 Egyptian Pounds.

From here it was a chaotic 1 hour drive through Cairo to our hotel where we started the tour. Traffic in Cairo is ridiculous. There are no rules except that if you don't have a horn on your car beware... Craziness. After 40 minutes I started to feel sick. I wasn't sure whether it was the pungent smell of the fake coconut car fragrance or the crazy driving but I was hoping the hotel wasn't far away. Not to mention how desperate I was to go to the toilet...hmm should have gone in the airport like I
Natalie at Hotel HavanaNatalie at Hotel HavanaNatalie at Hotel Havana

I hate pimples after flying- hence my trusty dermologica clay mask!!
was going to.....

Arrived at the Havana hotel. A little dodgy from the outside but inside the staff were really friendly and the rooms were clean and liveable. Amanda and I had a little giggle to ourselves when we rocked up to the entrance, but then again for $250 each for 9 days I wasn't expecting too much anyway...

Once we had settled in we went to find food and found a really nice cafe and an Italian restaurant. Not to forget that it is 10 degrees outside and we have heavily 'UNDER' packed when it came to winter clothing. The Egyptians also were keen to let us know that this was very unusual weather for Egypt when it came to cold...

That night we had dinner at the Italian restaurant. I had a pizza and Amanda a Cesar salad. I wasn't taking any risks on anything uncooked.









Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb