Camels & Pyramids & Surprises


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
October 1st 2007
Published: October 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe I'm here...after 6 years of trying to get here and September 11 preventing me from continuing to Egypt last time..I'm actually here in CAIRO in EGYPT in AFRICA! Coooooolll

It's brilliant, i'm so excited...unfortunately this email cafe doesn't let you download photos ,so next time maybe, tho' i don't know if my boat on the Nile will have internet access...i suppose not...probably a good thing tooo..

I spent the day in Athens yesterday- one of my fave towns...i woke early to have brekky on my roof and watch the dawn hit the Acropolis as the city's churches tolled their morning welcome in sequence, echoing each other ...such a moving experience, and then to later walk through the streets of Plaka and hear the glorious tones of the monks singing the morning mass, flowing out of the church doors into the streets...oh, the purity of it, again close to tears with the perfection of the moment. I spent the rest of the morning almost by myself up at the Acropolis getting fabulous photos of the Parthenon with the almost full moon in the sky above...perfect. I love that town.

then i flew to Cairo aririving a few hours ahead of my folks who had no idea I was going to meet up with them at the hotel...when I did they were seriously stoked. (phew!!) and we had a beer and a light meal together and crashed.

Now today we've started putting our plans in motion and are heading to the Museum to start our immersion into the Egyptian culture from millenia ago...but first we crossed the road all by ourselves...THAT is an achievement believe me!

It's soooo exciting to be here and to be starting to see and BE in the thick of it ... really really cooooolll....

Gotta scoot,

Scully

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb