I know I said I wouldn't do this, but...


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
September 7th 2005
Published: October 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So, today is election day in Egypt. Why is this important? Well, you see, I told my parents that I would stay home in Ma'adi on this day, as our school closed for the day because of the crazy traffic that was anticipated today (yes, even crazier than usual!). We were told to maybe stick around Ma'adi today. But you know, I was in the UK and was in London 5 days after the bombings there; s**t can happen anywhere. Furthermore, today seemed like the perfect day to hang out with a new Egyptian friend, a lovely girl named Marwa who works at my school. So today, Marwa, Christine and I went out...downtown - sorry Mom and Dad! But you see, now I am back in Ma'adi, and I didn't get blown up or arrested. In fact, today was great (although I got no work done).
We met at Ma'adi station, and made our way downtown to Sadat station - this is the station you take to get to the Egytpian museum. The metro system here in Cairo is good, although women traveling alone or in a group should go on one of the first 2 metro cars - they are
More billboardMore billboardMore billboard

Sure, it's okay to show her on the billboard showing clevage, but if I do it here, I get leering eyes watching me!
reserved for women and children, and are much less intimidating than on the other packed cars with all the men (who stare a lot). Anyway, we got off at Sadat station and took a cab to Arkidia Mall, a HUGE modern mall (after passing by an anti-Mubarak protest that was jamming up traffic). Arkidia Mall is an awesome place to shop for clothes - decent prices and lots of choice. For those of you wondering, no, you cannot bargain in the malls, only in the markets. We had our lunch, and afterwards made our way to another place I told my parents I wouldn't go today - to Khan el Khalili Market, the biggest and oldest souk in Cairo, and a haven for tourist and Egyptian shoppers.
To go to Khan el Khalili, you need a certain mentality about you (and an Egyptian friend to help you bargain isn't a bad idea, either!). Foreigners will be bombarded by invitations to come into shops, and goods of all kinds put right in front of you. First, you need to realize that it is not really rude to simply ignore all of the people calling to you; just keep walking by. Second, know what other shops are offering for the items you wish to buy - all shops are not the same, nor is the quality. Then decide on a shop, go in, and let the "game" begin. After asking the price for an item, don't be afraid to offer even 1/3 of that price; eventually, after bargaining for a while, if you still do not get your price, walk out - often then the shopkeeper will follow you and give you your desired price (usually in the middle of what you offered and what he said first)! By the way, Khan is a great place to see like a thousand mosques - gret photo opportunities everywhere. Oh, one scary thing did happen at Khan while we were there. We were bargaining with this guy for a clothing item, when all of a sudden a cry went out and ALL of the vendors on the street with tables and carts - the illegal vendors, not the ones in the shop buildings - picked up their tables, pulled their carts and hauled ass outta there in a matter of seconds! Apparently, a "watcher" alerted all of these guys that the police were coming, so they all took off! That was scary - I almost got run over by a cart of stuff :-) I wonder if I would have got a discount? About 20 minutes later, they were all back, and we got the item we were trying to get before the alarm went out. The best line I heard today at Khan was "99% discount!"
Well, I suppose that maybe I should get back home and try to work. Inchallah (God willing), I will write you all again soon. Cheers...

Advertisement



15th September 2005

Ilike it !!!
I'm gonna make my wife 'american' read your journal very effective and drawing a clear pic. Sherif the maadian from america :)
25th September 2005

very Intersting Madam
wow,you had a quite day out Madame..I love your writings... I wonder if what do you really think of Egyptians themselves.. are they differnet and how? what can you say about your friend Marwa? and how different is she from your friends back in canada?.. what did really encourge you to come to Egypt except for travelling around ??

Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0818s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb