Ah, El Maadi!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
August 21st 2005
Published: August 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Let me tell all of you first that living in Egypt is not as difficult as many people at home tried to convince me - I bought Kraft peanut butter at a store, for goodness sake (all Canadians will know this reference)! It does have lots of things to get used to, like traffic, finding your way through mostly unmarked streets, etc., but I like it here. And of course, "here" is El Maadi, a largely ex-pat community in Cairo.
My apartment is very spacious, and my Bowab (door man/security person) is great. Living on my own has taken some adjustment, but having a good Bowab helps you to settle in well if you are on your own. As well, a good Bowab will keep your building clean, too.
Being a woman has it's own "rules" here in Cairo, especially if you are pale and blonde like me. I would like to "thank" (sarcastically) the Western media for portraying white western women as sluts who only want sex, for that is what happens here - that is how mid-east men see us - we've screwed ourselves over!!! Anyway, I have followed advice and do not make eye contact with
RamadanRamadanRamadan

At Ramadan, people put out these Ramadan lamps.
men as I walk on the street, and ignore any calls of "habibi" (sweetheart, my love). Saying hello to the police in my area is fine and the shopkeepers I use, but that's it. This has kept me out of awkward situations. Also, never sit in the front of a cab! Always take the back.
Anyway, that's it for now, from bustling, busy, at times dusty, Road 9 in Maadi (great shopping). Cheers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



15th September 2005

Reflexive !!!!
For being maadian for 28 years, i'm telling you you are absolutly right for all what you say, but!! 1st of all you have to appreciate being in maadi cause thats not only the best suburb in cairo, but allover egypt 2nd you have identify the peole before dealing with 'opposite here as i live now in USA' it will be hard at the begining but the place, the clothes, the friends and the car ;) are all points to be considered i agree with eye contact and i want to add something to taxi drivers PREVENT touching their hands while giving them the money 'hold the money from the other tip' cause i've heared this from a lot of forign friends back in cairo for comments plz write me on sherifottoman@msn.com

Tot: 0.361s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb