Let the Fun Begin


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
June 17th 2007
Published: June 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

June 17, 2007

Let the fun begin……

I haven’t flown United Airlines in over two years and it did not take long to remember why. After clearing security, I headed to my departure gate for my flight to Chicago. The reader board at the gate did not have any information on it so I asked the “nice” lady behind the counter if this was still the gate for the flight to O’Hare. Before I could even finish my question, she admonished me for not being patient. She was working a flight to Denver and would update board when she had a chance.

About 30 minutes before the flight was scheduled to depart, she made an announcement informing us the flight to Chicago was delayed due to the late arrival of the aircraft. We would now depart @ 7:01PM. Guess what! 7:01 came and went. As it turns out, the aircraft had been delayed out of Billings, Montana due to a mechanical problem and thus created the domino effect of delays that was now affecting me.

We finally departed Kansas City around 7:50PM. After an hour flight to Chicago we landed on Runway 4 Left. After exiting the runway we began the long journey to our gate which happened to be on the other side of the airport! My flight to DC was scheduled to Depart at 8:55 PM and I was sure I’d be spending the night in Chicago.

To make matters worse, after a 10 minute journey to the other side of the airfield, we were advised our gate was occupied and we would have sit on the airplane until it became available. Fortunately the wait was brief as United found another gate for our airplane.
As we approached the new gate, the captain announced that the aircraft at the new gate was unable to depart due to….. A mechanical problem. We would have to wait for another gate. Finally, they found a gate for us, which happened to be 4 down from my flight to D.C.

We finally got off the aircraft and I headed to my connecting gate prepared for the worst. I was already over 15 minutes late. To my surprise the gate area was packed!!! Apparently this flight was delayed as well! I would make it to DC after all!! The passengers at the gate were irate! There were over 150 of them and NOT ONE single United Airlines representative. A lady informed me this was the 3rd gate change for this flight and that they had all been crisscrossing the airport for the past 90 minutes. Now the flight was delayed and nobody had a clue why!

About 30 minutes later a gate agent finally appeared and without as much as an apology began to board the flight.

The flight took off about 90 minutes late. When we finally landed in DC it was 12:45 PM. I decided not to rent a car and drive to my sisters house as that would add another hour of travel to my extended journey!!

After a few phone calls from the baggage claim area assistance center, I found a great rate ($185) at the Hyatt Crystal City and headed out to get a cab for the 5 minute ride to the hotel.

It wasn’t over yet!! I stepped outside the terminal and wham!! A line of over 100 people waiting for taxis. Add another 25 minutes! I finally made it near the front of the que and jumped at a chance to share a cab w/ a lady that was going to a hotel near mine.

Finally, I made it to the hotel checked in and called it a day!

Yes, let the fun begin! Thanks United!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb