Cairo, 23 million people


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
May 27th 2007
Published: May 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Cairo this a.m. about 1 a.m., then spend an hour with British Airways because they lost one of my bags--actually it only had a collapsable lawn chair with an umbrella but I'm thinking that will be mighty important when I am camped out in the Desert at 110 degrees!! hopefully they will deliver it to my hotel before we leave.

This trip so far has me seriously jet lagged, as it is 7 p.m. right now, and 10 a.m. in Denver; so all the meal times and sleep times are in the wrong place. Dennis and I are just about to head out and find some dinner now.

I am uploading some pictures of Cairo, but not the pyramids yet. We will see those in a day or so. Cairo is a n interesting city to walk around in, and the guy from the tour agency says you can even drink the tap water "but don't drink too much of it."

Cheap here, too. When I travel I use the "Big Mac" index to kind of see how relatively expensive things are. A Big Mac Meal here is about $2.38. This is not the cheapest
McDonald's delivery scooterMcDonald's delivery scooterMcDonald's delivery scooter

What a great idea!!
I've found; Beijing was about $1.70. But this is pretty good. We had lunch today and two shawrma chicken sandwiches with fries and drinks, including tax and tip were about $5.10 total. not bad, and I am sending a pic of us in this nice outdoor garden restaurant. We were the only patrons eating outside, but they may be busier at dinner.

Tomorrow, with our jet lag better under control, we are off to see the Sights of Cairo--museums and other stuff.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

view from our hotel windowview from our hotel window
view from our hotel window

Cairo is a city of concrete apartment buildings
Lunch in CairoLunch in Cairo
Lunch in Cairo

We had lunch in a delightful outdoor courtyard.


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb