My shopping trip


Advertisement
Djibouti's flag
Africa » Djibouti
March 25th 2006
Published: May 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me at marketMe at marketMe at market

Ralph, me and local storeowner
Well today was an interesting experience. Went with a group of people to the local market to buy some gifts. We went on (2) buses and their were about 30 of us. Met a guy names Ralph (who you will see in one of the pictures). We talked a little on the way to the market and he had been out before so I decided to stick with him.

First stop was the basket market. Women making wicker type baskets of different colors by hand along with some African style shirts. While the women were making the baskets, children and older men ran up to us to sell us their wares. After my shrewd negotiations, I decided to buy a basket and a shirt. The man stated 2,000 francs(about $10US). I told him no but I would buy both a shirt and a basket for 2,500 francs. He said OK and I left for the bus.

About 5-10 minutes later as the bus filled up and we were ready to go (I was in one of the front seats) the local police and the elderly gentleman came up to the bus screaming in French. I didn't know what was going on. Apparently the basket lady thought I had stolen her basket. I explained to the MWR guy (our local guide) what had transpired. The irate crowd started to climb on the bus screaming. Our guide got out of his seat in front of me and made them get off the bus. The bus driver (a local) explained to our guide what was going on and he gave the man an extra 1,000 Francs and we left. I did have one of my lawyers onboard with us and when we got back to camp, the JAG decided that I caused enough trouble therefore I wasn't allowed off the camp anymore (he was just teasing). I was then known as the Legal Chief that stole a basket and almost caused an international incident.

After that, we went to the regular market which was quite impressive. After that, we went to the store we at the camp affectionately call "Wal Mart". It's pretty bare but they do have some appliances and toys and such. While we were there my LN1 noticed something strange. A goat in the front seat of this guys car. She took a picture which I included in this entry. Yes, the car really works and the goat is in the front seat. Funny.

The day ended peacefully and alll is good in the world again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 4; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb