My personal thoughts


Advertisement
Djibouti's flag
Africa » Djibouti
February 26th 2006
Published: April 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A bit tired this morning. Friends wanted me to go out and drink a little last night. It's funny since I've been here, I haven't felt like drinking. Guess maybe I've exchanged some stress for a different kind of stress.

Had 2 hours indocrination this morning. General from 5th Fleet flew in to greet us. Awfully young. Our guys that are transporting our weapons got held up temporarily, therefore we don't have our weapons or gear yet. What a suprise to them when they come from 29 degrees in Germany to 91 degrees in Feb here in Djibouti. All of us anticipate a hot summer in July, Aug and Sept.

Haven't washed any clothes yet but at least I have my uniforms. Some people only brought one set and the rest are with the cargo. There were all forced to wash theirs today because they couldn't wait any longer.

People seem friendly. No saluting zone but need to say hi to everyone. Reminds me of Harding University in Seary, Arkansas and walking down the street saying hello to everyone. Kind of strange. Haven't taken any descent pictures yet but I will soon.

Calling it an early night (8p.m.)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb