Fresh eyes in Lubumbashi.


Advertisement
Published: July 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The ADOPTION

Sitting with Mary Starzyk. She is an American from Ohio sitting next to me at the house of Janice McLain. Janice is the treasurer of the United Methodist Church here in Lubumbashi and also handles the Katanga Provence.
Mary has completed an adoption for Anastasia, who is also from the Kamina Orphange.
1. 1st priority is to get the Congolese Passport.
2. She believes BABY may also need a Schengen VISA for Amsterdam
3. She believes we may also need a Johanesburg (South African) VISA. She feels this can be done here in Lubumbashi in about a day for $45 plus an expedite fee.
4. I will need a POWER of ATTORNEY from Rachel for me to be able to sign in her stead.
5. I will need my 1040 and W2 from the previous 3 years.
6. I will need to complete the I-864 Affidavit of Support which can be downloaded.
7. I am also needing to complete the VISA Application DS 230 I & II which can be downloaded.
She feels this can all be completed while I am here, but the language barrier and the Congolese red tape is quite frustrating.
She says things can be sent FED Ex to Kinshasa instead of Lubumbashi, but after being in Kinshasa, I’m not at all comfortable with that suggestion. $120 to Fed Ex to Kinshasa.
I am logged onto the LSUMC website, but today the internet connection will not take me directly to Rachel’s link.
So here I am. Still. Sitting. Accomplishing very little, if anything at all.
One step forward, two steps back.
Rachel, I have read your comments and I am very appreciative of Matt and Pres Clinton and, of course, Laurie Shadoan.
Changing the plane ticket comes next.
Unknown fees and whatnot.
Love to Travel! 600 High Circle Rd. Sandpoint, ID 83864
208-263-3220 ph/fx.
Email> love2trvl@imbris.com or jan@love2trvl.com
Website> www.love2trvl.com
I am reluctant to give the reservation # for security reasons, but here goes:
South African Air reservation # X84DBI. Electronic ticket issued June 19, 2009. # 0837442360540. Delta Sky Miles # 2681098790.
SA Air # 1798 Lv Lubumbashi Aug 2 11 AM.
KLM #592 Lv Johannesburg 11:30 PM
Northwest Airlines #45 Lv Amsterdam Aug 3 @ 1:25 PM
Northwest Air #1533 Lv Minneapolis Aug 3 5:10PM to KC!
However, if I am in Kinshasa completing the VISA process, it might make more sense to fly out of fabulous Kinshasa. That airport is a nightmare. I am uncertain about what do with the flight at this point, but Rachel, please research the possibilities.
(Whoever reads this, Cath, Marie, Kurt… please just tell Mom I’m fine and will be home soon.)
Rachel, I will be getting my cell phone back this afternoon from Pator Kimba. We can establish a Skype account for that through Google Skype. You download the free program then you can call me from a computer. Country code for Congo is 243 (I think).
Transmitting this now before the power goes out again.
My Love and Appreciation to all of y'all. When I get home and start passing out hugs I might not let go.
I Love You Rachel. Over and Out.

Advertisement



18th July 2009

Got your blog, will start working
Better and more concrete details when you get them please. Please tell me you feel more comfortable now out of Kinshasa! Praying you do and that you have been able to get a shower and sleep. How long did it take to get Anastashia? Have to go set up chairs at church. You missed a week of wonderful bible school. At Tana's typing right now. Shaylee loved VBS and will be singing tomorrow at church. Beautiful weather here! Record low of 55 last night. All windows open - grass still green and lush - good rain. EVERYBODY misses you so bad and can't wait for your return. Will go to church and print out all steps and start my homework. Makes me feel like I am helping. I love you!
18th July 2009

You found some Americans! Yea!
We all look forward to you and Kamina getting back on US soil as quickly as possible.
18th July 2009

Word from Mary Hoffman - I will try to contact this lady.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: Mary Hoffman [mailto:maryhoffman@kc.rr.com] Sent: Friday, July 17, 2009 10:07 PM To: Rachel Andrisevic Subject: Theresa Cox Importance: High Good Morning Rachel, We hope this helps! Love ya, Mary ----- Original Message ----- From: Angie Sterling To: 'Mary Hoffman' Sent: Friday, July 17, 2009 10:13 PM Subject: Keith Andrisevic I’m sorry… Forgot to give you the email address: momtheresa2003@yahoo.fr. Ed. The Children of Promise contact for DR Congo is Theresa Cox. She is currently in Germany. Her cell number (that may not be current) there is 011243815216499 and her Skype address is 760.610.0804. Theresa was running an orphanage in DR Congo. At some point she had to leave. She is still running programs there. Apparently she is well acquainted with the lady who is the national Minister of Child Services, or something like that. It’s probably about midnight in Germany, but Judy Lieser is emailing her to tell her someone will be contacting her. She will also pass on your email address and phone number. Hope this works. Ed
19th July 2009

VISAS
Hey Little Brother, Sounds like things are back on track after a few major setbacks and you will be home soon. I just don't understand why anybody would need a visa just to make a connnecting flight through a country??? That one's a mystery to me. Stay well, and I'll keep praying for you and Kamina to make it home safe and soon. Love ya, Cathy
19th July 2009

Hang in there, Keith!!!
Man, I am so impressed with your perseverance! When you get back, please allow me to buy you as many beverages of your choice, at a location of your choice. We will continue to check in daily on your progress, can't wait to see you both when you get back. Not sure what it is worth but, we'd be happy to try and contact Dennis Moore (our congressman) and Nancy Pelosi to see if there is something more that can be done to help.
20th July 2009

God Speed...
Keith, you are in the Rader Families thoughts and prayers 24/7...Please stay safe and know that your beautiful bride is hanging tight... We love you all and are waiting for your return to us all... Loving the Lord... The Rader clan

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb