Only 5 more days!!!!!


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
September 2nd 2006
Published: September 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone

I hope you're all doing well and that Canadian summer has been good to you. Here we are, Labour Day weekend, and yet I'm still at the office... how does this work? Oh, yeah, I'm in Africa!!! 😊 Well, as consolation, I'm kicking off at 3pm to watch the Tri-Nations match on the French sports channel. I've been absolutely spoiled with the amount of rugby I get to watch here (often 2 matches a DAY!) between the Tri-Nations and the Top 14 from France that are on right now. Today I will be watching the Springboks get schooled by the All-Blacks, but my rugby dreamboat Daniel Carter will be playing (All-Blacks #10 and pretty boy) so it's all good. As you can see I have become completely rugby obsessed since being flooded with all this rugby, but I think that's a good thing! Good incentive to train! Did I mention I'm sleeping with my ball these days? Don't judge me!!!

Gonna have to leave old Gilbert at home for the upcoming climb, though. Can't believe it's just around the corner. Only 5 days until departure now. This time next week I'll be on a bus from Nairobi to Arusha at the base of the mountain. Wow. I've been reading over the pages and pages of climb material that the company sent me, and just generally obsessing about it. Since I'm going to be gone for about 3 weeks, I've hired an assistant to fill in for me while I'm gone. I'm SO in the big time now!!!!! He's a guy from Togo who came highly recommended by a colleague from another company. He's basically just running with the ball while I'm away so my projects don't sit still. He seems fairly competent but it's tough doing the initial hand-holding that comes with showing someone the ropes. It turns out I've gotten really used to working alone and have no patience for other people!

Last night there was a Happy Hour over at the neighbour's house (our corporate partner) so the folks from the office all wandered over for a few drinks. Afterward I went for dessert and drinks with another Canadian woman expat here. I'd been looking forward to that meeting ALL WEEK since Melanie has been living and working in Africa on and off since she was my age (she's only 32 so still young!) so she's got tons of experience and advice to share. Mainly it was just good to have some girl talk with someone who understands what I'm going through. It was nice for her too, she said, because she got to complain about work with someone who also works in the industry and knows the same people, etc.

Anyway, that's all the news for the moment. Not too much else to tell. I hope you all have a good long weekend!

-Brownie



Advertisement



5th September 2006

Glad its a Gilbert (top of the line) and not a KooKoa or other low life piece of leather.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0947s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb