Ho hum....


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
August 30th 2006
Published: August 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone
Not too much to report this time. I'm over the hump in terms of malaria recovery, and back at the office of course. My colleagues here were a bit worried I'd jump back in the saddle too soon, so it was decreed that if I tried to set foot in the office before Tuesday I was to be hog-tied and locked in my room! Luckily, I was smart enough to comply and stayed home until yesterday.

Looking forward to the trip up Kilimanjaro. I've been reading through all the papers that the travel folks sent me about arrivals and that sort of thing. The only thing left to buy are some iodine water purification tablets, and then I'm set. It's only 8 days away now until I leave. Can't wait! 😊

So work is increasingly hard to get motivated for, but I think that's just cuz everything is getting so normalized here. It's just the "same stuff, different day" syndrome you get in any job I think. I'm not fighting too hard against it either (even though I have a mountain of stuff to do) because I am so worn out that I have just stopped caring. Hopefully this trip up Kilimanjaro and week at the beach in Zanzibar will be what I need to be revitalized. Sounds like a shampoo commercial, doesn't it? "Revitalized in 3 easy steps!" Shampoo sure would be cheaper!

Today I'm going to break the rules and go for a bit of a hike. I'm going absolutely squirrelly with this "no exercise" mandate I've been given for recovery. I will make sure not to push it, though, to make sure I'm good and rested for my climb and back to peak health. Sometimes to get over being sick, you just need to sweat it out!

Anyway, I hope you're all well at home. Looking forward to seeing you all very much!

Love
-Brownie

Advertisement



30th August 2006

Recovery
Heya Hans/Frans, I am very happy to hear that you are recovering well. I was a lil worried when you told me you had malaria. but relieved now to hear your on the road to recovery. All the best and try not to kill urself before going on ur big climb! miss you, love you, xoxo. H/F
30th August 2006

im keeping my eye on you
take it easy on this so called "hike" missy. i dont want to hear that you over worked yourself and passed out somewhere. cause if i have to fly to africa to kick your ass and get you to take it easy when you've been told to take it easy, i wont be a happy camper!! xoxox (haha..can u feel the love?)
30th August 2006

So glad to hear that you're feeling better!! I hope you're 100% by your trip. Which sounds amazing by the way. I'm so jealous. I saw that IMAX movie on Kilimanjaro and it was spectacular. I can't believe that you will be seeing all those interesting ecosystems and plants and creatures..... yes I'm in Biology.... You had better take hundreds of pictures, I want to feel like I'm there. Take it easy and get better soon. Miss you a bunch. xxoo

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb