Is it sad that I'm writing about a sandwich?


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
September 3rd 2006
Published: September 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody!
I hope you're all doing well and enjoying this lovely long weekend. I wanted to share a very special Canadian moment I just had here. It can be summed up in three letters: BLT. That's right; I found a place that makes a REAL North American BLT!!!! YAY!!!!! Apparently the Chicken Club they make is also good... This new discovery came about in a rather interesting way...

Yesterday while I was taking a short afternoon run (all cardio has been officially shot during malaria) I came across some Peace Corps volunteers at the local corner bar. So when I was finished I went over to get a bottle of water and had a bit of a chat with them. Turns out they're all super nice and they invited me out with them that night to some wine bar they were going to. We all had a great evening, and it was fun to hang out with a load of 20-somethings again! During a conversation with one girl (Lisa) we were talking about how when we go home for Christmas we've both got long lists of home-cooking we're looking forward to eating. I mentioned that a BLT was high on my list, and she told me about a place just across from the office that makes a mean one. She also knows a bakery near our house that makes CINNAMON ROLLS and bagels and brownies.... (I'm pretty sure that Lisa is an angel sent from heaven to keep me from jumping off a cliff). So today I stopped by for a BLT and onion rings (!) and not only was it really cheap, it was fantastically good. I'm looking forward to trying the Chicken Club and getting to that bakery too! 😊

Anyway, since I've had a bit of a hard time finding ways to be happy here, meeting those people came at just the right time. We're supposed to be going out again this week before they all go back to their villages and I'm really looking forward to it.

I'm looking forward to seeing all of you, too! 😊

xoxo
-Brownie

Advertisement



4th September 2006

You obviously need Tim's
Lindsey - your Dad just gave me your journal coordinates so I have jsy spent a happy hour or so gulping in the whole thing. What an adventuress you are! From this latest experience, it sounds to me that what you need most in your vicinity is a Tim Hortons. If they can operate in Kabul, why not Burkina. All we need is a quick private member's bill - which is a contradiction in terms so don't start ordering a double double just yet. Great blog Lindsey. Keep the mosquito net on. - Tony
4th September 2006

hmmm!
it's not sad that you're writing about sandwich considering the fact that the goooooogle ads at the top of all your posts "customize" their adds to your name and all of them are for chocolate infused foods (coz your name is Brownie duh!)

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb