Time to Go Home


Advertisement
South America
August 30th 2012
Published: August 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well today is our final day and I can't quite believe what a blast we have had and how quickly it has gone. Laki has disappeared into Cusco with her mates, Pete and Jon, whilst I sit in the room trying to prepare myself mentally to start my packing - I have stuff everywhere!

Laki has bad knees and the poor thing is suffering badly. The trek has taken its toll. Jon has "healing hands" and he has been in to administer his healing hands therapy on the affected parts and I must say it must have worked as Laki definitely had a spring in her step when she left.

Machu Picchu was amazing. Marcel our guide gave us a tour of the ruins early in the morning and then we had time to do our own thing. Call us philistines but it was so hot we hit the cafe and drank cold beer rather than spend time in the burning sun walking around the ruins. This was quickly followed by cocktails at the sanctuary lodge to celebrate one of our group's 30th birthday. Not only did Lisa celebrate her 30th, we also helped her celebrate her boyfriend Rob's marriage proposal. A very romantic proposal in Machu Picchu.

As Laki and I were returning on the Orient Express, we had a quick clothes change. It was at the point I decided to re-enter Machu Picchu to take some more pics and have some more time on my own to mooch about amongst the ruins. Maybe not the best idea as I was hardly dressed for it in my silly little pumps, bare legs and arms - a real no no because of the sand flies. I also decided to climb to the highest point - after a lot of puffing and panting and some very strange looks from other tourist, I made it and was rewarded with some fantastic photos. it was a special moment even if I did look like a bit of a tw*t; I didn't care 😊

Finally we returned to Cusco on the Hiram Bingham. Expensive but worth every penny and a real highlight to cement what has been an amazing 10 days. Time to leave now, I had better finish my packing - and thanks Laki for what has been a truly memorable experience. E x


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Hiram BinghamHiram Bingham
Hiram Bingham

Orient Express


Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb