Made it!!


Advertisement
South America
August 29th 2012
Published: August 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wow! What an amazing few days. .... Thanks for all your well wishes. Nick- your comment was really kind and funny. Thanks.

Day one was long and hard. Never ending. My day bag weighed a tonne! I walked at the back with Ricardo and virtually had my own private tour.... He was amazing. Camp site was ok, but it gets dark quickly and there is nothing to do. Food was amazing with flambe bananas!

It was a cold night but I slept 8 hours on and off. I have gravitated to Pete and Jon who are a lot of fun.

Day two was built up to be stupidly hard. It was hard but doable. Poor Jane was sick all the way so I walked with her. Again having Ricardo as my own personal guide. Made it to dead woman's pass . What am achievement! Tonight wasn't as cold but we were all tired and slept well.



Day three was more ups and downs but actually was a breeze to days one and two. We have named ourselves the z team and Ricardo is totally amazing. He played a bird song on his mp3 today and within minutes one turned up. It had to be seen to be believed. I have seen the most amazing orchids and even a tarantula! All things I would not have noticed without Ricardo. What a special day today was. Thank you Ricardo.

Day four and we are heading for machu. I thought I'd cry when I got there. My journey here started 18 years ago.... How funny that I'm here now. The mountain stands proud and magnificent just like the pitons in st Lucia but has far more SpirItual. Totally amazing. How did they do it. Since we are coming back tomorrow we headed for the hot springs. That was definitely a highlight for me. We sat after four days trekking with smelly bodies and aching feet looking up at the mountain in warm water drinking chilled beer. Total bliss. I met Emma there as well and caught up on her travels. Glad she has kept herself safe.

We ate pizza together and then emma and I headed to our hotel. Cleansheets, toilet... Bliss!! So looking forward to tomorrow.



Today we left for machu early. We had a hot and detailed tour of the ruins. Rob proposed to Lisa and we all witnessed it. It was a totally magical moment! We then had cocktails in a fancy hotel which is where I am now. Emma and I are sippingcocktails waiting for our afternoon tea and orient express train to pick us up. Could we be any lucky?

I feel at peace with myself. .... Thoroughly recommended...



Lx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb