Horseback riding in the Andes


Advertisement
South America
April 11th 2006
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Our viewOur viewOur view

As we start out
Quick entry before I pack up for our 7 day Easter vacation... honestly, it's beginning to seem like school is what we fill our time with when we aren't traveling, instead of the other way around! Not that i'm complaining.

Highlights

of the last week

Going out to Korean food in Bella Vista, this artsy, lively part of Santiago. Emilina took a bunch of us and knew just what to order.. they put a little grill thing on the table and you cook all the meat and veggies yourself. Bella Vista is also a great place to go because after dinner you can go dancing or hang out in one of of a ton of different bars. Emilina, Preston, Paco and I found a cute place with some live music, which made for a fun but chill night, which was nice. Wish Chile were cheaper though!

English Opens Doors- Decided to join this program run by Chile's gov't that organizes for students to work in schools throughout Santiago, for a minimum of 4 hours a week, to teach English (obviously). I haven't started yet, but hopefully I will soon! I'm excited to start working with kids again. I
The guysThe guysThe guys

Relaxin before lunch
also think it will be a great way to get more involved with what's going on around me in Santiago, a way to feel a bit more a part of the city.

Asados (Barbeques)- Pretty much one of my very favorite things, especially here and with all our gringo/ chilean buds, great burgers, and a classic American game or two. Followed by a dance party on one of the Universidad Catolica's campuses...

Horseback riding in the Andes!!!- Group trip on Sunday to Santuario de la Naturaleza, it was great. Although my back is still sore... No but it was several hours of riding with huasos as our guides(Chile's equivalent of a cowboy, like an Argentine gaucho), having a few hours to eat lunch (grilled shishkabobs... however you spell that) and relax, hiking to a waterfall, discussing our perceptions on Chile now that we've been here 2 months, and discussing some of the environmental concerns facing the country, other than the smog of course. We also played the most anti-team-trust-building game, which proved to be a lot of fun, and only involved 3 sticks. Hard to explain, so I'm going to leave it at that. It was really fun
Josh and IJosh and IJosh and I

Enjoying some time by the río
though, if only to see people ganging up to get others... haha.

Not quite highlights


Looking for Indian food- Attempt #1, 2 weeks ago- Restaurant no longer exists, our suspense builds.
Attempt #2- Successfully found restaurant (Salaam Bombay) with Laura and Paco... all I can say is... it just wasn't the same!! Food was good but not Indian enough for us so one of these days we'll get to the last Indian restaurant in Santiago that we know of. Do I dwell on food too much?

Econ test- Yes I'm taking econ. Love the class, Economic Development of Latin America- but econ in Spanish? It's like learning two new languages. I had econ last semester, but still! So the grade will probably not be so pretty, which is unfortunate. The Universidad Católica, where I'm studying, actually has a great econ department and our teacher has collaborated to write books with Jeffery Sachs.

Soo.. Things are still going well. Santiago is definitely cooling down a bit (now it's 60s-low 70s as opposed to mid 80s when we got here). No problems with the family although my 10 yr old brother is still really shy around me and getting
The grupoThe grupoThe grupo

Great trip with a great view.. and an even better-looking group ;)
him to talk to me is a feat. I just hope if my child is a boy he isn't afraid of minutely sized bugs, I don't think I'd be able to put up with killing every one he happens to see... Anyway, where was I... that's all I guess, should get packing! Laura and I are staying at Paco's tonight so that we can leave for the airport together at 5am tomorrow morning. Can't wait for 4 days of pb & j, bread, fiber cookies, and pasta! Ok so maybe it wasn't such a quick entry... oh well.







Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

HikingHiking
Hiking

Yeah there have been easier hikes. Beware of cacti!
Me and CataMe and Cata
Me and Cata

On the trail...


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb