Buenos Aires - Final Week!


Advertisement
South America
February 16th 2010
Published: February 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Starting off my last week strong. Last night I went to Milanga, where locals go to dance Tango. I felt a little bit like I was back in dance class in 7th grade, because there were tables around a dance floor and most of the men were sitting on one side and women on the other! It was great to watch though. It is so elegant and graceful, and the music is fantastic. Unfortunately, you can´t really dance it without lessons, so only Stacey, who took lessons the last couple weeks got up and danced.

Today I started off the day with breakfast at Cafe Tortoni, an old cafe on Avenida de Mayo, with three girls from the house. After stuffing myself on churros dipped in hot chocolate, and coffee, I was ready to explore! First I went to the Cathedral in the main square, with the tomb of San Martin, a hero in Argentina´s independence. Next I took the bus to El Caminito in La Boca. La Boca is a working class port town, and they took the left over bright paint from the boats and painted this area of the neighborhood, thus creating a colorful area with cobblestone streets, street performers, shops and open air markets (a tourist area, but one that I liked!). After wondering and taking many pictures, I had lunch at a streetside cafe with live tango and music. So far I am getting in my Buenos Aires culture for the week!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Me at El CaminitoMe at El Caminito
Me at El Caminito

In neighborhood of La Boca
Fun wall art!Fun wall art!
Fun wall art!

Near El Caminito, La Boca


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb