How you know you are in a developing country


Advertisement
South America
February 8th 2010
Published: February 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

How you know you are in a developing country...



I decided to post an entry (or a couple) of a less narrative nature with the purpose of interacting a bit with you who read this blog or of just amusing myself. Knowing that at most 10 people read this blog at least once a month, the latter is probably the case - so I will have to try my best to surprise myself with some good thoughts.

I know that the term developing country is entirely arbitrary and not accurate in many cases, but bear with me - you all have an idea of what it means.

Those of you from a wealthy country (like Canada) who have explored a developing country or two have probably seen some differences between that country and your own. It would be fun to make a list of these differences which probably vary depending on where you've been. I will start this list off and add more as other differences come to my mind, but if you want to pitch in your own two cents please comment and I will include your thoughts (if appropriate of course!).

1. You must pay to use the washrooms, leaving the street as the cheapest option (and you have seen hard evidence that you are not the only one who has contemplated the alternative).

2. Local English literature (brochures, menus, tourist maps) reminds you of how bad free online translations are.

3. Supermarkets have large signs saying "please do not bring your dogs in".

4. Bus companies sell window seats, beside-the-aisle seats, and aisle seats (standing room only).

5. It is common for a 400km bus trip to take at least 14 hours.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb