Buenos Aires


Advertisement
South America
February 2nd 2010
Published: February 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hola from Buenos Aires! After about 28 hours in route, I finally arrived at the Voluntario Global Volunteer House and went straight to bed at noon. Two hours later I made myself get up and ventured out for some coffee and empenadas at the cafe downstairs. There is definitely not a shortage of good food here! There are tons of cafes, bakeries and restaurants all of which have been good so far. I would like it to cool down about 10 degrees, but other than that, things are going great! I just got back from orientation at the community center in La Boca and I am going to be teaching math to 13-17 year olds. Originally I was going to be teaching 6-12 year olds so I figured I would like teaching math, but when they heard I was actually good at math, they moved me up, and now I am a little nervous. Hopefully it won´t get past algebra, I don´t think I could handle geometry or calculus in spanish! Fingers crossed.

Everyone I met so far is extremely nice. There are 7 of us living in the volunteer house, all girls ranging from 22-32. The 32 year old is a psychologist from Trinidad and Tobego and she has made up a house schedule of events from Tango shows to dinners to bar crawls and picnics, so I do not think I will be bored the next few weeks! The community center is closed tomorrow for a yearly meeting, so I don´t work until Friday (M/W/F) and am going to explore in the meantime. Tonight the plan is to go to a Burrito joint that is supposedly awesome, then tomorrow evening is a Tango place, where you can just watch or join in. Should be fun! I hope everyone is staying warm, I will try to send you some of my heat!

PS - I apologize for all of the spelling/grammar mistakes in the previous entry, I don´t read through them before publishing, hopefully they weren´t all so bad 😊

Advertisement



2nd February 2010

BA
glad you have great girls to spend the next 3 weeks with. Sounds like you will be out late so a good thing you don't have to start early. I am sure you will be great in math. the language could be a problem, but an equation is an equation, in any language. Good luck. Dad had a good say with a 17 year old who could ski south peak and ridge. I stayed in recliner with computer and dad's book that I started yesterday. And this afternoon I made good headway on our Ireland trip, 2 days with Windles sketched out. Progress. XOXM
3rd February 2010

hola
Glad all is well and that the people are fun to be with. 28 hours enroute....I hope you had a good book! Teaching math should be a real challenge after not using it for awhile. I trust there is a decent book that you follow, although regardless of the book the students at that age ought to be "interesting" to work with. Enjoy...LOL DAD
3rd February 2010

Hiya
I finally caught up on reading your entries. I know, I know, bad boyfriend is me. I love the description of the interaction between sea lions in your last entry, especially where you talked about the two sea lions paying attention to you. Also, and I know I'm 29 years old, but I did giggle when you said boobies. I can't be too hard on myself because I think every guy I know would have laughed as well. I know you told me you went ou dancing but I didn't appreciate it until I read it. I hope you had fun Tango-ing. OK. I'm off to get some shut eye. Love you.
3rd February 2010

Hola from Snowy Andover!
We sure could use some of that heat! We're at 26 degrees and light snow. We do have our new gas Jotul stove in our new sunroom now to keep us warm! Wish you could bring back some of the food! Sounds great! Don't worry about spelling/grammer. Your reports are great! Love, Geoff

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1006.8kb