Puno!


Advertisement
South America
October 27th 2009
Published: October 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

24/10/09 Laura´s Birthday, Mark McBride´s Birthday

Firstly i have to say its going to be difficlut for me to blog everyday now as im nopt going to have internet where im living seeing as im moving from place to place
Ill try to get in a cafe as often as poss

I got up at 5 and got ready and showered etcetc
At 6 i went and said a quick goodbye and HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Laura
Her present from me is my big bath towel which im leaving

went and said bye to ninoska and left my keys then i got a taxi with all my things to the bus terminal

I bought a delcious yoghurt for breakfast then found my bus and found my seat
it was possibly the most untouristy bus ever
i was the only gringo!!
a man in his 50´s had the seat nect to me and we got chatting
infact we chatted most of the really long bus ride
it was so sweet
I read my book ´Mutiny on the Bounty´ by John Boyne and then they played ´Unrest´ on the shitty little tv
the sound was so low i couldnt even hear the spanish, let alone understand it!!

It was such a starnge bus ride
Younbg girls would get on with lambs on leads and women with huge sacks of god knows what
then men would get on and try to sell soap or a new health soup
women would sell bread

at around 12 two young ladies got on with an animal ina sack and a sack of potatoes and served up a meal to anyone who wanted it
the man next to me advised me to get some as it was good and we wouldnt reach puno till 3
decided to risk the unknown meat
think it was goat
whatever it was they were chopping it up on the bus!!
it was actually very tasty!!!
and for 5s a complete bargain

We reached Juliaca and my friend got off
We then had another long ride to puno
Got to Puno at 3!!!!!!
I got a taxi to the hotel and checked in
the hotel ´Manco Capac Inn´ is really lovely
The hotel guy helped me call my tour guide ofr tomorow and arrange pick up from the hotel
he said theyd be there at 750

I went back to my room and sorted my things out then went out to explore Puno

went to the plaza de armas first
it was very average and the cathedral was closed
wandered around and found the Coca Museaum
Infact it was just one small room!
the lady put on a video in english for me to watch abou the various dances in puno and what they mean
then i wandered around the exhibition on the history and uses of Coca
And yes it was actually used in Coca cola so there all you non believers
!!!!!

The weather was turning grey and grissley so i searched the Lonely Planet for a restaurent
Found one called Incabar
It was lovely and brightly coloured
I felt like a bit of a looser eating on my own though
The menu looked amazing
I ordered an inka kola and chicken stuffed with cheese and spinnacch in a dijopn sause with creamy mash
wow!!
so scrummy!!
the puddings looked so tatsy but i was too full so settled on a hot choc
it came with a cinnamon chocolat which remided me of Moore and cinowoman!!

got a taxi back to the hotel because it was like a monsoon outside and id forgotten my jacket!!

had a warmish shower then read my book in bed
so tired!!

Advertisement



27th October 2009

well charlotte, i'm like theresa, i couldn't find anything about macha picchu, but i thinks thats my computer skills, you've written so much, it's now going into sections, and i've only just realised that. well your so brave doing all that and a lot of it on your own, just think of all the new friends you've made along the way. can't believe you ran up the mountain and in that altitude, you must be so fit. must be better than lanzarote, you've been there loods of times. well i took leanne to cardiff xmas shopping yesturday, my feet were killing by the end. she got all her's done.the new shopping centre was open, it's really big. well your still managing to talk about food even if it is strange things like goat and guinea pig.ian and i went to a masquarade ball last week in windsor , that was fun, we managed to keep the masks on all through food. keep up the exiting news, lots of love from us all. karen.xxxxxxx

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb