Galapagos and Quito, 2006


Advertisement
South America
July 29th 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My friend Jeanine asked me to go with her to the Galapagos - I already had my vacation planned that year - I was planning on getting in my car and driving. Just driving to see where the road would take me. Jeanine gave me the opportunity to scrap that plan for something a little more...structured. I am so glad. Not only did I have bonding time with my friend (we have known each other since gradeschool), but I had the opportunity of a lifetime to see vacation as something other than a random beach, with a novel in my hand and a drink by my side. Instead, I saw a place of such wonder and beauty that I have never forgotten it. We made friends and we saw things that are not possible to see anywhere else on earth. I will never forget the Galapagos and will return someday, I hope.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

SwissotelSwissotel
Swissotel

The view from our room in Quito
The AlbatrossThe Albatross
The Albatross

Just lucky timing
Blue Footed BoobiesBlue Footed Boobies
Blue Footed Boobies

Watching the mating dance is a once in a lifetime experience!
Deep Sea SnorklingDeep Sea Snorkling
Deep Sea Snorkling

With my best friend and partner in crime, Jeanine (I am on the left)...
Galapagos TurtleGalapagos Turtle
Galapagos Turtle

Amazing to see how truly large these guys are. Some of them have bullet holes in their shells, that are decades old!
Iguanas Iguanas
Iguanas

I love how they all "snuggle"
Resting Sea LionResting Sea Lion
Resting Sea Lion

What a day!
Pinnacle RockPinnacle Rock
Pinnacle Rock

On a "young" island. I have never experienced such quiet.
Land IguanaLand Iguana
Land Iguana

They were so cute when they tried to get a flower from a cactus tree.
Watching the babiesWatching the babies
Watching the babies

My friend Jeanine
On the beachOn the beach
On the beach

When we first arrived. So much to see!


Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 18; qc: 86; dbt: 0.0751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb