Still in Huarez


Advertisement
South America
July 27th 2009
Published: July 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

For those of you who are sick of receiving these at work, youll be pleased to know that this is likely to be my last blog before I leave civilisation for 18 days...

Before I start, let me explain about apostrophes. Work on some keyboards. Not on others. This one is a no... so I havent changed my silly grammar habits and I have to admit that its hard, but strangely liberating, to be without them.

Im now really starting to get acclimatised. Yesterday was my first proper walk. I was quite liking hanging out in the garden, but did remind myself that this is a walking holiday. So I suppose we can be expected to walk... We drove about 50 mins out of Huarex, up a steep winding path, with houses and livestock right on the edge of the road. Its fair to say that no grader had been along the road in quite a while. We then walked up a ridge and around the side of a hill. Ascending from 3,500 metres to 4,100 metres in about 1 1/2 hours. Bearing in mind that Mt Cook is 3,700 metres, thats quite high. Of course we are a lot closer to the equator, so its not as if we are climbing or walking in snow. In fact its really hot and I have managed to get sunburnt 2 days in a row. V. embarassing, but I suppose to be expected when you have come from the winter. I felt pretty good, though pretty puffed.

last night most of the rest of the Group arrived and fortunately, so far, they all seem pretty good. We are 9 in all, ranging from 22 to somewhere over 60. 3 lawyers, but the other 2 are/ were public defenders in the US. A family of 3 (Tessa who is 22 will be my tent mate) and a few extras.

Today we walked from the town up to the Cross and then beyond.

Need to finish now, will complete shortly...

Advertisement



27th July 2009

Grammar queen
Lucy - there was an article in the Sunday papers about the return of the exclamation mark and other grammatical excitement - including my fave ellipses... I thought of you!!!!!!! S

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb