Latest News (check frequently :-)


Advertisement
South America
November 3rd 2008
Published: November 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

This entry has the only reason to keep you up to date, what I´m planning to do. This is because, loading up pictures and writing text, takes me such a long time, that there are weeks, where you will not hear any news from me. So to keep you informed, what I´m actually doing (and to show, that I´m okay), I will regularly update this entry (on top). You will NOT get an extra e-Mail, when I update this entry, so check on your own, whenever you want to know, what I´m up for next (saving the initial-Mail with the Link works too ;-)!

In diesem Eintrag werde ich immer meine aktuellen Plaene eintragen. Ich mache das deshalb, weil Fotos hochladen und Text dazu schreiben, mir viel Zeit kostet und ihr dann teilweise wochenlang nichts von mir hoert. Um euch aber aktueller zu informieren, was ich so vor habe und gerade mache (und ob es mir eh gut geht), werde ich diesen Eintrag regelmaessig aktualisieren (neue Nachrichten immer oben auf). Ihr bekommt KEIN Mail, wenn ich diesen Eintrag aktualisiere - wenn ihr also wissen wollt, was gerade so los ist, dann muesst ihr diesen Eintrag selber aufrufen (einfach das erste Mail mit dem Link zu diesem Eintrag aufheben geht natuerlich auch ;-)!


Here we are / Und los gehts:
28.11.10: Well, here´s the news, for all of you who didn´t hear it up to now: I will return to Austria in December for Christmas-holidays! :-)

06.11.10: Okay, okay, the link to the foto was broken, but now it works!

04.11.10: Yes, yes - this time it was really a long time, but for my birthday I managed to publish the video of the 2-years-anniversary (almost a month to late, but better late, then never ;-)

23.08.10: Okay, it´s a really long time now, since the last news ... but I´m just having a great time here in Colombia with my love. I´ll try to write more travel-blogs within the next days (hopefuly :-).

20.05.10: Yes, you guessed it: I´m in San Gil and will stay here for a longer time, with my girlfriend. Just got a Visa for Colombia, so I can stay and work a year here and also got my colombian ID! :-)

28.04.10: And again: Still in San Gil :-) Having a very good time here and trying to get my papers ready to get a working-visa, to stay longer in this beautiful country.

07.04.10:
Still in San Gil (hey, that even rhymes! ;-) and back from a short visit of the border to Venezuela, where I managed to get the permission to stay 90 days more in Colombia (after a little discussion with the customs officer :-)

24.03.10: Ups - I was wrong when I wrote that I will continue to Tunja, Villa de Leyva and Bogota, because it turned out, that I'm "trapped" in San Gil ;-) So I'm still here, but at least made a trip to Villa de Leyva this weekend. Will cross the border to Venezuela in the next week, but just to come right back and so gain more time to stay in Colombia ...

15.03.10: Had a great trip to Cabo te la Vela and stayed some days more in Santa Marta. Then went to Bucaramanga and now I'm in San Gil. Will continue to Tunja and Villa de Leiva this week, before I finally come to Bogota.

04.03.10: First of all, for all of you who are worried about the earthquake in Chile and have sent me mails - thanks, I´m fine and quite far away from this tragedy. At the moment I´m travelling with some friends in the very north-east of Colombia, which is very remote, but beautiful (and secure). Just slept a few hours (3) in Santa Marta and then already we went travelling ;-) Will return on Sunday to Santa Marta and then decide if I will make a 6-day-trip through the jungle to the "Lost City" :-)

28.02.10: Aloa Caribbean! :-) I arrived in Cartagena at the Colombian-Caribbean-coast (its really hot here ;-). The time in Manizales was great, although I had a problem with a teeth (and now I´m proud owner of my first implant). Went afterwards to Medellin and had a really good time there, with great people. I´m not going to stay long in Cartagena - too hot for me (and too touristic ;-) - will continue to Santa Marta soon.

19.02.10: Well, well, well - had a fantastic time in hot Cali and they even managed to make me dance Salsa :-) (well, at least I tried ;-) Met great CS-people there and afterwards went to Salento to a small farm and went hiking in the gorgeous Valle de Cocoro and visited a traditional coffee-farm - really great. At the moment I´m in Manziales and managed to get my first couch in Colombia :-)

12.02.10: Had a really great time in Pasto & Popayan and now I´m in Cali, the hot Salsa-city ;-)

02.02.10: I´m in Colombia! And I have to say, really very nice and the people extremly friendly. Guess, that it will take me about 2 months to see all the interesting things here, maybe more!

29.01.10: Spent some great days in Quito and also Mindo. Now I´m in Otavalo and soon will leave Ecuador, to visit Colombia!

17.01.10: Went to Guayaquil and Riobamba and actualy I´m in Baños (near an currently active vulcan :-).

08.01.10: I´m in Ecuador! At the moment in Cuenca, a very nice and beautiful city. Enjoying the nice weather (it´s not that hot here, than recently ;-) and planning, what to see and do in Ecuador.

04.01.10: Visited the ruins of Kuélap (near Chachapoyas) and spent new year with a friend at the beach in Trujillo. Now I´m in Mancora and tomorrow I will continue to Ecuador.

26.12.09: Went to Cajamarca and after that to Chiclayo, where I spent Christmas with a really nice CS-family. Today I will continue to Chachapoyas and return on the 30. to Trujillo, to meet a friend and celebrate New Year there.

18.12.09: I´m still in Trujillo, having some relaxed days (and adopting to the heat, after the days in the mountains ;-). Will continue to Cajamarca tomorrow and after that to Chiclayo - guess I will spend Christmas there ...

12.12.09: Continued from Lima, went to Barranca and then to Huaraz and actually I´m in Caras - still at the Cordillera Blanca, making a few trekkings. Will continue to Trujillo at the coast soon (Monday or Tuesday).

28.11.09: Still in Lima, having a good time - preparing to continue my trip to the north of Peru. Bought new glasses, after I "lost" my last ... ;-)

23.11.09: Have been a week on "vacation" with a friend, having a look at Chincha, Pisco, Paracas, Ica and Lunahuana. Now continuing my time in Lima.

12.11.09: After almost a week without e-mail I´m "online" again :-) Still in Lima, having a good time here.

08.11.09: I´m without e-mail at the moment (since 5th of November), as I changed my password and now cannot remember it ... :-) And it seems not to be so easy to convince GMX that it´s me, who want´s to gain access again ... Meanwhile I´m having a great time here in Lima with a very lovely family and we also celebrated my birthday really nice - so it looks like I will stay a little bit longer here :-)

28.10.09:
I´m already in Lima and stay at the home of a friend - really a very nice family. Looks like I will celebrate my Birthday here :-) From Ayacucho I went via Rumichaca to Huancavelica and the other day continued to Huancayo, where I stayed 3 days at the home of a very friendly Couchsurfer and his great family and also other very nice Couchsurfers.

20.10.09:
Heading forward towards Lima :-) Saw the Condores at the Canyon on Colca - really a nice experience. Viewed the famous Nazca-Lines (although my stomach revolted) and now I´m in Ayacucho and will have a look at the ruins of the Wari-culture (500 years before the Incas came).

15.10.09:
Well, now I already have my first experiences with Peru :-) Have been to Puno, Cusco and Machu Pichu (impressing) and now I´m in Arequipa, going to see the Cañyón de Colca tomorrow.

07.10.09: One year has already gone by - unbelieveable! On the 7th of October 2008 I left Austria ... and now I´m still travelling ... and still don´t know for how much time longer and where it will lead me to ... Well, had to make a very difficult phone-call the last days ... Bought a ticket today for tomorrow to continue to Puno (Peru) - I´ll be leaving La Paz in the morning hours.

05.10.09: Well, well, my good old friend Wolfgang already returned to Austria this weekend and I´m stuck in La Paz because of dentist-visits :-) Spending the time with an old friend after almost a year of seperation from my old circle of friends, was really very nice - we had a great time. I´ll continue to Peru in a few days, starting with Puno at the Lake Titicaca (although I can´t await to come to some "lower-land" again ;-)

26.09.09: Okay, did have the time to go to an Internet-cafe - everything okay here in Rurrenabaque :-)

18.09.09: Spent some nice days in Cochabamba and now I´m already in La Paz and a good friend from Austria arrived. We´ll have a full program the next days (biking, hiking, Titicaca, Jungle, ...). So expect to not get lot´s (or any?) news within the next 2 weeks - no worries, I´m fine! :-)

13.09.09: I arrived yesterday in Cochabamba (Bolivia). The last days I visited the north of Chile (Calama, Iquique, Arica, Parque Lauca) and had some really great experiences and met speacial people. Now I will stay a few days here (maybe go to Parque Torotoro?) and then head to La Paz to meet a friend who arrives on the 17th.

02.09.09: Had a great time in Sucre and went hiking in the Cordillera de los Frailes. After that went to Potosy and sadely got sick - but after 3 days in bed everything was okay again. Saw the silver-mines (very impressive) and a local Festival. Continued from there to Uyuni and spent the last 3 days in the salt-dessert there - really impressive! At the moment I´m in Chile, in San Pedro de Atacama and will continue tomorrow in direction north. Don´t have the time to write e-mails, but in a few days, it will be better!

18.08.09: Have been to Samaipata and seen the impressive El Fuerte. Today I arrived in Sucre, after a really thrilling bus-ride all night long, that didn´t let me sleep, although I closed my eyes all the time (couldn´t look at what the driver was doing ...) :-(

15.08.09: Plans changed a little bit, due to a cold I´ve catched and the lack of connections ... So I´m still in St. Cruz, but will continue tomorrow to Samaipata.

12.08.09: I arrived to Bolivia! On the 9th of August I finally arrived in St. Cruz and did find a very nice Couchsurfer. I´ll stay for a few days and then will continue by train to San Jose, to see the Jesuitic Missions. After that I guess I return to St. Cruz and continue to Samaipata later on.

08.08.09: Actually I´m in Filadelphia - have been to Caballero and Concepcion. I will continue today and catch the bus from Asuncion to Santa Cruz (Bolivia). Because this is the only (reasonable) transportation from here, I changed my plans and will start in Santa Cruz (instead of Sucre).

04.08.09: Well, after 7 (!) weeks in Asuncion, I'm today continuing at 23:00 o'clock my journey - and it's not an easy decision for me ... yes, you can bet, it has something to do with an woman ;-) The last weeks have been just great, but still I'm hearing the call, so I have to continue ... to where and if/when I will return - I do not know now, but I will find out, when I continue my way ... Today I'm going to P.J. Caballero and then to Filadelphia and finally I will continue to Bolivia (Sucre). I thank God/Life/The Universe, or however you want to call it, for bringing me to this place.

13.07.09: Yes, I'm still in Asuncion - got really stucked here :-) Just enjoying a very good time, so seems like I will stay a few days more ;-) Maybe not a bad idea to spend the "cold" time of the winter at a nice place with nice people ...

30.06.09: Still in Asuncion (seems like I got "trapped" here ;-) - enjoying a wonderful time here - no idea, when to continue and where to go next ... we'll see ...

19.06.09: Newsflash: Found a German bakery in Asuncion with real German bread (Mohnweckerl, Sesamweckerl, Vollkornbrot, Bauernbrot, Schwarzwaelder-Kirsch-Torte, ...)!!! Awesome! Since 8 month didn´t eat such a good bread! Simply delicious! This really reminds me at home ...

17.06.09: Paraguay! Yes, I´m now in Paraguay! ;-) Returned from Rio, had a look at the waterfalls in Iguazu and continued to Ciudad del Este and today arrived in Asuncion.

09.06.09: I´m actually in Rio de Janeiro, visiting my sister! It´s really great here! Went from Salta to Resistencia/Corrientes, Mercedes, Iberá, Posadas and San Igancio. Will 'finish' Argentina, when I return to Iguazu in a few days and then continue to Paraguay.

19.05.09: Had a great time in the north of Argentina, visiting Tafi del Valle, Cafayate, Cachi, Salta, Tilcara, ... and it was a great pleasure to meet Pablo again. Actually I returned to Salta and will continue to Resistencia soon. Yes, I know, I´ve not written an blog-entry for a while ... I´ll try to change this - really! ;-)

07.05.09: Back to Argentina again! Actually I'm in Tucuman and will continue north to Salta, to meet a friend from Couchsurfing (Pablo, from Buenos Aires, where I spent Christmas & New Year). Then making my way ´till Iguazu and looks like I will then make a "visit" of Rio de Janeiro, to meet with my sister! :-)

28.04.09: I'm back from the Easter Island and I have to say, it was just great! Really beautiful and gorgeous! Now I'm having a good time in Santiago, with a really active CS-Community and also experienced my first little 'earthquake' - this was quite scary! Will continue in the next days to Valparaiso and Vina del Mar.

18.04.09: I´m at the Island Rapa Nui! :-) After half a year of hard work I really deserve some holiday, so I´m spending a week here and it´s really great! Before I spent a great time in Talca with a really lovely family and 2 days in Santiago with a CouchSurfing-friend - to where I will return after my holiday :-)

07.04.09: Well, well, had a great time in Valdivia and at the moment I´m in Talca at a really great and welcoming family - so it seems I will spend Easter here :-)

31.03.09: Been to Puerto Varas, San Martin & Junin and stay at Pucon now, but will continue to Valdivia tomorrow :-) Really great time here and a beautiful countryside. And the time keeps running - it's now already half a year, that I'm on my trip! (Oktober to March) ...

23.03.09: Finished my visit to Chiloé and stayed last night in Puerto Montt. Will continue to Puerto Varas today, to meet the next CS-Contact. Want to explore the surrounding and then continue to Argentina again (San Martin de los Andes).

16.03.09: Having a good time in Chiloé, at the moment in Ancud - staying at a very nice hostal with home-made bread from an swiss-person ;-) Really good! Looking forward to celebrate the St. Pattricks Day tomorrow in Castro :-) Been to Bariloche and meet very nice people there and had great Asados!

09.03.09: I´m in El Bolson at the moment - yesterday was the last day of the annual beer-festival :-) Have been to Futaleufú (but have not been rafting), Esquel (Park Los Alerces) and Trevelin (Wales ;-). Will go hiking here a little bit and then continue to Bariloche.

02.03.09: Internet-Access is difficult, these days ... :-) Had a great time in El Chalten, continued to Perito Moreno, Los Antiguos, Chile Chico and finally to Coihayque. Will continue tomorrow to Futaleufú for some white-water-rafting! :-) And after that cross the border to Argentina again, to see Trevelin and Esquel.

23.02.09: Having a good time in El Chalten. Making a few walks and had fine weather up to now (today I´ve been at the Fitz Roy, really beautiful). Because of lack of bus-tickets, I will have to stay here, ´till the 25th, then I continue to Perito Moreno.

19.02.09: Made a day-trip for hiking in the famous Torres del Paine in Chile and visited the impressive glacier Perito Moreno (and yes, I saw it "calve" 4-5 times :-). Now I´m in El Calafate and will continue to El Chalten for some further day-hikes tomorrow.

16.02.09: Staying in Puerto Natales and will go hiking tomorrow. I guess, I will continue to El Calafate the day after.

11.02.09: I arrived in Chile today! New country, to visit for me! :-) Left Ushuaia and will head to Torres del Paine soon!

07.02.09: I´m at the end of the world! :-) Yes, I´m finally in Ushuaia - the most southern town of the world - and you really get reminded to this every 5 minutes (commerce ...). But it´s really nice here. Will stay a few days and continue next week to Punta Arenas (Chile).

29.01.09: Stayed at Sarmiento one night and visited the petrified wood. Still in Comodoro Rivadavia, but guess, I will continue tomorrow morning to Puerto San Julian (to maybe see some Commerson-Dolphins and/or visit the estancia "La Maria").

26.01.09: Had a great time in Puerto Madryn and continued today to Trelew - had a look at some villages "from Wales" with "Tea-tradition" :-) Will continue tomorrow to Comodoro Rivadavia and maybe Sarmiento, to see a petrified wood.

24.01.09: Spent a night in Bahia Blanca - visited some friends of Fernando - really cool. Stayed a day in Viedma and continued to Puerto Madryn. Will have a look at the Peninsula Valdes.

21.01.09: I will continue to Bahia Blanca today. Don´t think I will stay for long there, but continue to Viedma maybe the next day, to visit the near by Balneario El Condor and La Loberia. After that I guess I will continue to Puerto Madryn to visit the Peninsula Valdes.

19.01.09: Now I´m already almost one week in Villa Ventana - it´s really beautiful here and the people are very nice! Went hiking a little bit and will continue doing so tomorrow. Guess, I leave at the end of the week in direction Bahia Blanca / Viedma.

12.01.09: My package arrived! I can´t believe it! :-) After 6 weeks it was finally delivered ... Well, now I have my warm cloth and shoes and other stuff for the south and can continue my way to Patagonia. I will first make a stop on the way to there near small hills, called "Sierra de la Ventana" and guess I will go there tomorrow in the evening.

05.01.09: Finally I returned yesterday to Buenos Aires - thanks Pablo, I´m having a great place to stay here! I´ve been to Rosario (very nice town) and spent the new-years-evening in Jesus Maria (yes, that´s really the name :-), near Cordoba with the family of an CouchSurfer, who hosted me there. This was really nice. Now I´ve returned to Buenos Aires (of course the package didn´t arrive up to now) and will head on south soon. I´ve got the results of my blood-sugar-analysis and it is within the values of "normals"! :-) This is really great, as I´m taking no medicine at all, since October (!) and have been eating lots of sweets (as you now can tell by the shape of my belly :-)! Oh yes - I did some minor revisions on the entry "Uruguay - a personal summary" (added some comments and pictures of the food :-).

26.12.08: Bought a bus-ticket today and will be going to Rosario tomorrow - so I finally decided to make a short trip (about a week) to the north and then return to Buenos Aires, before I head south.

25.12.08: Have been "celebrating" Christmas alone in Buenos Aires, but was a really good day - spent it talking to my family and friends via Skype (all in all, more than 5.5 hours (!) :-). Still waiting for my packet to arrive ... thinking about making a week-trip to the North (Rosario & Cordoba), to give it some more time, to arrive ...

14.12.08: Yesterday evening I arrived in Buenos Aires! I took the ferry from Carmelo to Tigre and a guy, that I´ve met in a Youth-Hostel in Piriapolis some weeks ago, picked me up at the Terminal in Tigre at 9 in the evening. I can stay in his apartment - I even have it for my own (he´s staying at his parent´s place nearby meanwhile)! So I will start my Argentinian-Adventure! ;-)

10.12.08: At the moment I´m in Mercedes and I think I will continue tomorrow to Rosario. Guess I will head to Buenos Aires this weekend, or at the beginning of the next week. Spent some really nice days in Salto with some interesting people.

30.11.08: I´ve added some minor stories to the last blog-entry (about making "Gluehwein" and a not functioning ATM ;-). At the moment I´m in Minas. I´ve been in Treinta y Tres and Rio Branco (yes, I´ve been to Brasil again ;-) the last days. Tomorrow I will continue to Tacuarembo.

26.11.08: Visited Valizas and Coronilla. Met two travellers from Finnland in Valizas and we rented a house. Staying at the moment in Chuy and want to visit the Fuerte de San Miguel tomorrow and the day after continue to Treinta y Tres. After that I guess Melo and Tacuarembo.

23.11.08: Saw Jose Ignacio yesterday and continued the same day to La Paloma. Will stay here 'till tomorrow and then continue to Valizas. Everything fine. Met a nice traveller from at the Hostel (she's from the US) and we spend some time together, exploring La Paloma.

20.11.08: Spent 2 days in Piriapolis (made day-trips to Minas and Pan de Azucar). Since yesterday I´m already in Punta del Este. Everything okay so far. Guess I will continue to Jose Ignacio or La Paloma within the next 1-2 days.

16.11.08: I'm having a great time here in el Pinar (Lauras home) and will leave tomorrow, heading to Piriapolis. I plan to stay there for 2 nights at a hostel and make daily excoursions to the surrounding (Pan de Azucar, Minas, ...). After that I want to continue to Punta del Este.

13.11.08: I´m still at Lauras place and enjoying the time here! :-) I think I will stay here until Sunday or Monday and then continue to Piriapolis. Maybe in the meantime a short visit of Atlantida? I´ll see ...

11.11.08: Today is my saints day! ;-) I´m still near Montevideo (about 20 km from the city center), at the house of a very nice Couch-Surfing - Contact, Laura. She´s really a special person - we have lots of fun and many things to talk about and visit. So I guess, I will stay a little bit longer here (about till the end of the week, I guess). I´m just fine and having a great time!

05.11.08: Still in Montevideo. Planning to stay another 2 or 3 days, to look around, make contacts and organize my further travel. I think I will head east at the coast towards Punta del Este. Next announcement appr. 2-3 days (short before leaving Montevideo).

03.11.08: Arrived well in Montevideo. Will first have some sleep and tomorrow explore the city. The CouchSurfing-Contact is very nice. Next info: Maybe tomorrow (because of birthday ;-), but at least within the next 3 days (will stay in Montevideo this time and then continue to explore Uruguay). Yes, the Blog-Entries for the 2nd week in Malaysia and the week in Spain are already in preparation ... be a little bit patient ;-)


Advertisement



4th November 2008

wellcome!
Happy birthday Martin!!
4th November 2008

Happy birthday!
Alles Gute zum Geburtstag Martin!
4th November 2008

Happy birthday!
Alles Gute zum Geburtstag Martin!
8th November 2008

Happy Birthday!!
Hi Martin, Happy Birthday!! Anca
23rd November 2008

saukalt hier
will auch weg und ich weis immer noch nicht wo der nächste urlaub hingehen soll, aber in deinem blog findet sich immer die eine oder andere anregung grüße Robert
20th January 2009

jetzt ist es endlich wieder warm
sehr kreative tastatur hier in thailand schoene gruesse aus khao lak! Robert
21st January 2009

Holiday
Hi Robert! Wish you a nice holiday and lot´s of fun! :-)
26th January 2009

Viedma
hello Martin ah! you are in viedma... ok!!
2nd April 2009

tstill thinking..
I am still thinking about having a system to track your trip.. in a nicer way.. like to have a big map on my office.. or maybe a software.. would be nice.. Take care Martin! :) Anca

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb