Galapagos Islands (need I say more)


Advertisement
South America
October 12th 2007
Published: October 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oh my goodness. I have seen some amazing sights on my travels last time but I think this may top them all.

Landed at the smallest airport I have ever seen in my life after a one and a half hour flight (including a meal, not like the english charging you). We are now seven hours ahead of you in England.

Landed in Baltra, free bus then a short ferry ride to Peurto Ayora. Found a hostel straight away $15 which is very expensive for ecuadorian prices, but its the galapagos so what the hell!!

Met a woman called Kylie from Oz. Went with her to Turtle bay. What a beautuful place. Beaches were practicaly deserted apart from the volcanic rocks, Iguanas at a metre in length (millions of them) and they swim in the sea.

The photos speak for themselves in this case, just hope they do it justice which I dont personally think they do.

Went out for dinner and some chilean vino funnily enough- feel very safe here. Alot more touristy but not too much as its low season so its perfect. Couldnt handle too many yanks, they bug me after a while.

Today, we went to Charles Darwin station, which has the most gigantic tortoises I have ever seen. These tortoises had to be placed in unnatural habitats because they were going to become exstinct. They are now breeding so from one specie of tortoise which only had 15 left, they now have over 1000 (I like stuff like that, it makes me happy). The babies are beautiful as well but cannot be released until they are about four and tough enough to survive. We done lots of reading today and learnt lots about the galapagos - took pictures of some of the facts if anyone is interested in the reading part.

Came home and got ready. I have now spent 2 hours on this slow internet which does not make me very happy but I think my poor grammar and writing skills is justified considering.

Now I think that is it for now, we leave on our cruise tomorrow, we are both so excited.We can swim with gigantic turtles, penguins, millions of fish, dolphins if we are lucky, white tipped sharks and anything else. Most of it is guaranteed which is very different to the great barrier reef. We are so excited and cant wait.

Anyway, Nik and I have a beautiful meal and vino waiting for us ina lovely restaurant and theres entertainment going on outside and I am missing it so must go.

Will try and upload my photos now, if it doesnt work then Oh well.

Hope your all well!! I may know more spanish next time. Oh and my phone doesnt work here. Will try and check my emails as much as possible but doubt it will be more than once a week depending on where we are and cant be bothered to waste time on these slow computers so please understand.

Mum, tried ringing you but couldnt get throught. Dad, sorry for the late phone call and couldnt really understand you, the photos you could tke here are amazing, you should be very jealous. Pedro, tried ringing you today but a lady answered, then rang again and a foreign person answered, think I may have got crossed lines somewhere. Oh and we so need to come here on holiday, you would love it.

Everyone else, hope everything is going ok with you. Feel free to post replies on this or email me. I will try and respond asap.

Love you all, MISS YOU and speak soon x x x x x x



Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb