Inca Trail - Day 2


Advertisement
South America
June 18th 2007
Published: October 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

DAY 15: SECOND DAY OF THE INCA TRAIL

I awoke at 3:00 a.m. to the song of a cock, who repeated its singing every half hour. Without a doubt, that cock did not pass the class that teaches to sing only with the sunrise. Anyway, at 5:30 a.m. one of the porters woke me and gave me a hot coca leaf tea.

After breakfast one of the crew offered boiled water and snacks for the trek. I returned the boiled water shortly after getting it though because Maria told me that there was one last selling point where I could get some bottled water. (I hate the taste of boiled water.)

At 7:15 a.m. we started the hike, and at 7:30 a.m. we arrived at the second check point. Here Maria told us that today we were free to walk at our own pace. Once we passed the check point, the hike was at a constant incline. From here I hiked by myself, listening to some good music. At 10:30 a.m. I reached the last selling point and bought the most expensive bottles of water, batteries and toilet paper sold in Peru. At this point you can find a restroom without a toilet and toilet paper but with faucets, so I suggest that you take plenty of toilet paper from Cusco
.
From this point I would be hiking on stone stairs. The next point would be “The Dead Woman’s Pass” or Warmiwañusca at 13,776 feet and 5.6 miles from our camp site at Huayllabamba. Hiking this portion of the trek was exhausting, and I had to stop to breathe a few times, but I reached it shortly after noon and was rewarded with a view that was breathtaking.

I spent about 15 minutes there, and then I continued hiking. At this point, I thought that the rest of the trail until the second camp would be a piece of cake. What a mistake! This portion was stone stairs that descended and they were not fun! When I arrived at the second camp, called Pacaymayu, at 2:20 p.m., my legs were shaking. I loved the fact that my tent was ready with my backpack inside and a small lunch was served to us. The last hiker of my group arrived at 4:45 p.m. The trek was 1.9 miles from “The Dead Woman’s Pass” to this camp.

While I was in my tent waiting for dinner, I saw a cloud crossing through the camp. It was just amazing and after that I enjoyed the dramatic colors of the sunset. While all this happened, I felt in my soul and body closer to nature and far away from the system that rules us every day. In other words, I was feeling like I had just reached the sky.

Dinner was served at 7:00 p.m. and after dinner I went to the restroom using my flashlight. In this camp you can find a better restroom without toilets but with some faucets and no showers.

That night I slept like the dead.
www.latikacuscotravel.com




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0189s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb