So I didn't see Shamu but there were a few Flippers!


Advertisement
South America
October 8th 2007
Published: October 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Buena vista!Buena vista!Buena vista!

View from the Puerto Piramides coastline.
This past weekend, I braved the travel storm on my lonesome and arrived in Puerto Madryn. It's located in the middle of Patagonia, the southernmost region of Argentina. That is, on the coast, where all of the magellan penguins, whales, sea lions, and other flora and fauna are in abundance.
It was a beautiful experience, being so close to nature, but at the same time a really lonely one. It made me realize how much we encroach upon their territory, we taunt them, we infringe on something that we have somehow told ourselves we own when in reality we do not. At moments, it was more lonely than the zoo. It did however really spark my interest in going to Antarctica but somebody told me it was really really expensive, so if I had to choose, I think I'm headed for Machu Pichu. We'll see about that.
I arrived on friday afternoon, paroused the town for a while. I booked two tours. On saturday, I went to the penguin colony located in Punta Tombo. It's like the largest penguin colony in the world, and definitely in Argentina. Thousands upon thousands of penguins come each year to avoid the winter and leave
Sea lions anyone?Sea lions anyone?Sea lions anyone?

Lobos marinos -- don't blink, you might miss them! pfffft.
just as it begins again for warmer territory. It was like I was experiencing the march of the penguin, only these were Magellans not emperors. Then afterwards, we visited the welsh town of Gaiman (a colonization attempt for a new Whales in South America). There we enjoyed afternoon tea time with a full spread. That was really neat.
But anywhoo! Then Sunday, I went on a tour of Peninsula Valdes, which is loaded with different species. We went on a whale watch, called back memories of childhood like our sixth grade Pine Cobble whale watch, and made me long for the massachusetts coastline once more. We saw whales and dolphins! I don't believe I had ever seen dolphins outside of Seaworld and Busch gardens before so that was an experience. It reminded me how much I've always wanted to swim with dolphins, so I'll be doing that some time sooner than later.
All in all, it was a great weekend exploring the incredible nature of Puerto Madryn and the surrounding area. I can't wait to see the southern tip of Argentina and conquer some glaciers! :-)
Six more weeks 'til classes are over.... Still Iguazu, Mendoza and Machu Pichu
PenguinsPenguinsPenguins

Welp, yes it is this time of year for the penguins.
on the list as far as travelling goes before December hits. We'll see what happens.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Shhh!Shhh!
Shhh!

Please respect the quiet of the rolling waves, don't frighten the sea lions folks! Bask in the serenity of nature's noises.
Sir Alexander & I Sir Alexander & I
Sir Alexander & I

My new friend from Copenhagen!-- a whale watching fanatic if you will. hehe :-)
Whale watchin'Whale watchin'
Whale watchin'

New friends from Singapore, Europe and Israel all enjoying the whales.
FinsFins
Fins

Reminds me of Cape Cod!
All done!All done!
All done!

'Til next time...


13th November 2007

i love you
i miss you a lot miss hannah jane. especially when i'm at your family functions (haha) and you aren't there. i would like to hold you.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb