...And the skies opened....


Advertisement
South America
March 22nd 2007
Published: March 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

..Like never before. Seriously, Ive never seen so much water in my life, and it was not measly rain drops, but huge rocks of water that nearly pounded their way through my umbrella ( yes my umbrella, I've been converted!) Unfortunately, our first experience of the rainy season happened to be when we were had travelled up to Ingapirca, where the ancient inca ruins are, and yes we decided to make it a night stop over. Unfortunately, the hostel that our lonely planet advised ( Which is like a little travelling bible!) which was very cheap, was also very derelict....but it being a small village we had no choice. So, we spent the first 40 minutes rebuilding the bed that collapsed when jack sat on it, then the rest of the night avoiding the damp patches in the beds and the drips from the ceilings. We should have guessed when we arrived, aftyer seeing a woman with a crazy hat sweeping water down the inside staircase. But nevermind. Needless to say we did all wake up with mysterious sniffles....
Anyway, so now that rainy season has officially started, its very sunny to 1 o clock then suddenly from no where someone throws all the water in the world over Cuenca woosh...
I dont think Ive mentioned my afternoon placement yet have I? The getting to a computer situation is much harder here, so I apologise, but here goes. So anyway, I wanted to reserve judgement about the orphange before blurting all, Im Im very gald I did, cos the first couple of days were very strange! However.....the orphanage has about 100 girls, aged from about 4 to 20....I only ever see the younger gilrs, who are about 4 to 12, but i dont think Ill ever know their actual ages because they all have a huge problem with saying how old they are, and we've only just got some of them to tell us their real names. We couldnt really figure out the whole age thing....tis a mystery. But anyway, I have never met a group of more hyper, violent and generally happy kids heh. For instance, the other day one girl really punched another, I would guess they are about 9, right on the nose...and seriously if it had been me I would have been holding back tears! But this girl just said..."owch..." then looked a bit confused, then giggled. One girl, callled 'Maria de los angeles...' has a habit of launching herself on you as soon as you walk in, which is quite sweet, until you realise she has her hands in your pockets or your bag. The first time, she discovered an open packet of oreos in sophies bag, which were swiftly transfered into her own pockets. So the lesson here is if you want to keep anything, dont bring it with you...
Its a lot of fun though, they are completely insane. The first day I was there, they were throwing themselves round on single rollerskates, which is apparently more fun (and more dangerous) than using two. I was very touched when they offered me one, despite the fact it was about half the size of my foot, then actually tried to force it on me, ignoring my pleas of ' it REALLY is far too small for my foot!' Since then we've had some crazy games of basket ball, without the rules, where if you're lucky enough to get the ball, you are in danger of being pushed to the ground by 8 year olds. Who are surprisingly strong, I promise you!
In a quick change of subject, because I do have to go, I experienced a real ecaudorian house party on saturday! Fun fun fun....and nothing like an english one....everyone actually just danced and salsaed for hours and hours. It was all very organised, nothing broken, no scandals, and there was always someone offering drinks to the people dancing. All very civilised i must say!
hasta luego guapos, Ill try keep up!

Advertisement



Tot: 1.179s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb