Salta La Linda


Advertisement
South America
February 19th 2007
Published: February 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bit of a close up!Bit of a close up!Bit of a close up!

At 5 in the morning I don´t think I could open my eyes very far, it was very chilly and way too early!!
Hi guys,

Ok, so this is tough to get anything up during carnival in Rio and may I add this is a brilliant city! Yet to have anything horrible happen but mind you its not like I carry all my important stuff around with me........Anyway I dare say this could be my last blog before I come home and I´m suprisingly writing this one at a reasonable hour after being out dancing in Lapa all night!

Heading to SambA Dome tonight with a couple of Canadians I met in Panama City which should be great fun, its very very hot here at the mom, plenty of colour and life though!

Just thought i´d write a quickie to say hi and that alls good, rio is amazing and see you all very soon! Here are some pics of my adventures until Rio around Salta (Northern Argentina, on the border with Chile). Enjoy.

Hay xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Tren de los nubesTren de los nubes
Tren de los nubes

I ended up in Salta, in the north of Argentina heading towards Humuaca. This is the bridge, tren de los nubes, the first train built in Argentina...very early like 5am.
Ruta 40Ruta 40
Ruta 40

Ok, so this bus was hillarious, you could stick your head out the top for the whole way - freezing mind you but beautiful scenery!
German BusGerman Bus
German Bus

This bus was absolutely odd, it was made by a German company and you just had to go inside it to be able to see that.....very kitch and colourful. However, the best thing about it was you could stick your head out the top which was cold but great for seeing the countryside which changed every hour.
llamasllamas
llamas

Instead of Guanacos, there were Llamas mum - wow, odd creatures they are but they live off these guys! I tried some in Maimara, interesting.
SalinasSalinas
Salinas

These are the salinas up north, absolutely amazing, sort of like the snow. Incredibly bright and blinding with the reflection but very cool.
SalinasSalinas
Salinas

These blocks are made entirely of Salt. They make everything here from salt, the houses, tables, chairs everything!
Iguazzu FallsIguazzu Falls
Iguazzu Falls

These are the falls on the border between argentina and brazil. Amazing!
Liam, Julia and meLiam, Julia and me
Liam, Julia and me

I met up with LKiam and Julia to see the falls. Liams in Rio with me now too.


Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb