It is time for stormy weather.


Advertisement
South America
April 18th 2024
Published: April 18th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Not all sunshine and cerveza today; storms arrived overnight and lingered for the night (and most of today). We went out for some meals yesterday night because the asado we were promised at the accommodation was washed out:-(

We awoke today feeling a little sleepy, but we went out anyhow to book our flights for the next leg of our great vacation.

We went ahead with it because the local travel agent indicated we could only fly as far as Puerto Madryn, which is about halfway to Tuerra del Fuego. Unfortunately, when we received the tickets back, they turned out to be for Trelew, a town one hour from Puerto Madryn and full of Welsh people....I don't have anything against Welsh people, but we expected a town full of penguins and whales that had opted to stay for the winter. We'll have to make do with leek soup and angry rugby fans, I suppose. It doesn't matter.



I had a great walk along the waterfront at Puerta Madera in the city today; they've gutted a number of old dockside buildings and converted them into restaurants and chic shops. All really wonderful, but it would have been even better if the weather had been nicer than it was today.

I bought my first umbrella of the trip today (assuming I'll lose it and it won't be the last) for 2 quid, which I thought wasn't too expensive.I thought, but my Scottish partner thought I was duped...typical.



Jens and the German contingent will arrive from Berlin tomorrow, providing they survive the midnight changeover at Madrid Barajas airport. I haven't seen him since the school dance night in Kilburn (don't ask), so this should be wonderful.

We might even go to a soccer match over the weekend, though none of the big teams (Boca, River) are playing at home, so it won't be as colorful as we'd like.

Anyway, I'm headed to get some food with some fellow hostel guests...more meat...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0137s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1001.6kb