And So It Begins...


Advertisement
Venezuela's flag
South America » Venezuela » Capital » Caracas
June 16th 2008
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

A Merida


My Life...My Life...My Life...

This is all that I will be carrying through South America...
It´s funny how life tends to work out. Of course in order for life to¨work out¨life usually had to have thrown you a few curveballs...and probably beaned you with one or two of them...

But since I´ve resolved to be the glass half full type this morning, I´ll focus on the good stuff - namely that I have finally embarked on an escursion. SO! sans sense and sensibility - and the major working of a plan - i find myself in Venezuela. I wish I could say that I am well prepared and have planned this to the hilt, but that just ain´t me. As it stands, all I´ve got is a backpack, two cameras and a lonely planet guide that has already gotten on my bad side (me and lonely planet are beefin´right now...)

And here is the story so far...

Caracas



Remember that time some bombastic fool blew hard about how it´s easy to travel anywhere since English is the defacto language of tourism...and how that bastard continued to regale you with stories of being able to communicate in every country he´d been in without any sort of trouble? Well Caracas has tried it´s hardest
Gettin´ Ready to mimeGettin´ Ready to mimeGettin´ Ready to mime

This guy had quite a crowd later
to prove that fellow wrong. I didn´t hear a single word of English in the city. In fact, even the touts and tour agencies screwed their face at me when I innocently asked ¨¿Se habla ingles?¨. I know...you can chastise me later for trying to take the easy way out. I spent the next day thanking my lucky stars for Shahima Chalela and Ricardo Ballon of ¨Go Spanish Now!¨else that day would have been alot more frustrating.

Caracas reminded me of a mixture of San Jose and Mexico City on steroids...except the people drive even crazier than in D.F. Crossing the street was an exercise considered imprudent by at least 7 out of 10 doctors...and I think the other 3 had been run over crossing the street to the poll. Caracas isn´t the prettiest city, but it had some bits of flair. It didn´t feel the safest either. Especially after my Bolivian/Venezuelan kickboxing buddy told me not to walk South..or West... or East for fear of my life. I guess North was the sea? Jokes aside though, I wasn´t any more paranoid than I am in any city. Only one Caraqueña looked at me with deep concern and said
Feeding the birdsFeeding the birdsFeeding the birds

In Caracas near Plaza Bolivar
¨cuidate...

So far I have felt like a rank travelling novice when it comes to paying for things...at first I thought that I had forgotten my numeros, but then I realized that there is just another series of currency that was recently introduceD...so if a clerk says 10 Bsf, she might mean 1,000 Bs. (which is about $4.60 US in case you were wondering).

I got out of Caracas fairly quickly to see go to Merida. I took my first long (13 hour!) bus ride. It was as comfortable as I could probably ask for except we had to change buses twice (once at 3am and once when I was too bleary to look at a clock...).

Merida!



Merida is known as the City of Gentlemen, but they let me in anyway.

Since everything closes on Sunday in Latin America, I took the world´s longest and tallest Teleferico to Pico Espejo and promptly experienced my first bout of altitude sickness at 4,765 meters (15,630 feet). The world looked funny through the stars I saw...




--
"Against logic there is no armor like ignorance."


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Young Love...Young Love...
Young Love...

They looked so innocent...and still i wanted to yell out ¨Git it SHAWTY!!! I didn´t though.
Caracas en la nocheCaracas en la noche
Caracas en la noche

From my hotel room
Madonna at Pica EspejoMadonna at Pica Espejo
Madonna at Pica Espejo

At 4765m...I was blearier than usual
The other TelefericoThe other Teleferico
The other Teleferico

On the way up...
Mis Amigas nuevasMis Amigas nuevas
Mis Amigas nuevas

Two Ladies I Met...they spoke in the most interesting mix of spanish and english...


16th June 2008

So, you like to travel?
This is so funny. I had soup after class with Ray Saturday and asked if he had heard from you lately. He said he thought you were traveling...that's an understatement! Don't forget your training. Actually, forget your training and kick them in the head if they give you any problem, it should be easy since they are all much shorter than you! Remember--being an ugly American tourist starts with you.
16th June 2008

Awesome
Great Start man. Keep em coming and enjoy all of it.
16th June 2008

You ROCK
I am so proud to say I have a cousin that takes excursions in South America. Continue to have fun and be safe. I am intrigued by your trip, this page and any expreriences you share. Maybe you will inspire me to leave Montgomery County!:-)))
16th June 2008

Hi Friend
Las Nubes! Great Pixs. Wish I were there.
16th June 2008

great!
As always, you have taken some beautiful pictures! Have fun on your adventure!
16th June 2008

conseja buena
Estoy reyendo porque intentaste alquilar un tour por hablando inglés. Estoy celosa porque estás en América del Sur y puedes practicar español. Vas a hablar tan bueno. Por favor siga escribiendo. Es fantástico!
16th June 2008

LOVE YOU
Take care my brother! I Loving your pictures. No planning, totally winging it. I am SOOOO going to look forward to this :)
17th June 2008

Travel Man!
Whoa! Nice going Naa! I didn't know you were on your way to South America. Not surprised though! Love this travel blog idea! Looking forward to what's next! Ganbatte!
17th June 2008

Awesome
Hey Buddy, it took me a couple days but I finally got to read your first entry. I can't tell you how jealous I am right now. I really enjoyed what you wrote -travel safe buddy!
17th June 2008

JOE TIME
Your on Joe time man i need my travel blog fix at least everother day. And when you going to hit me up with a spot for the meet up. let me know when you can meet up at peru. But great bloging you Actually sound like your on the travel channel. The adventures of NA.
17th June 2008

Wishing I Was There!
I am totally loving the Travel Blog and am looking forward to receiving many updates on your adventures! Wish I was there trekking through Sur America contigo! But for now, I'll just read your blog and hope to see ya in 2 months...wherever you may be on the continent!!! Love ya and big hugs!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb