Uruguay


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay
May 12th 2008
Published: April 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I took the Buquebus (it´s a large boat) from Buenos Aires to a rather sleepy little UNESCO world heritage city called Colonia del Sacramento. Uruguay, at least initially, intrigues me as a country because it is little known, seems to get along with everyone, minds its own business, and has a relatively good economy. I did hear a rumor that Uruguay has one of the world´s largest aquifers, not entirely sure what that means in technical terms, but the bottom line seems to be they are set when it comes to the ¨new oil¨, clean water. Also read somewhere that George W. and family recently bought large tracts of land here, on or near the H2O, having sent the recently wed Jenna down here a while back to sign documents while ostensibly on one of her UNICEF tours... Google that one.

My wanderlust is waning and I don´t know how much of the country I will see. At present I am tied down somewhat with job interviews and need to have a reliable phone number. Montevideo is nice to say, but to date I cannot identify a good reason to hop a bus and check it out. At present I´m enjoying the contrast between the silence here and the nonstop rumblings of Buenos Aires.

Had a really nice evening with a 70 year old woman from San Diego. We had tea and talked about a wide range of subjects, including her current advocacy work for a neglected and oppressed tribe in northern Uganda.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb