Colonia del Sacramento


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » West » Colonia del Sacramento
October 5th 2010
Published: October 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, this first entry is entirely dedicated to Colonia del Sacramento, in Uruguay. It's such a magical place, it really draws you to the past and yet it makes you feel so at ease, it feels like home.

I went with a friend of mine, MarĂ­a, who kept on insisting in taking a daytrip to Colonia. Since it's just an hour on ferry and we were going just for the day, I said "ok, let's go for it".

We got to Colonia last weekend, the weather was delightful!, although slightly cool at nighttime. We head up to a bar to have a meal and decided what to do around. Sure, it's all about sightseeing Colonia del Sacramento's historic quarter, but we wanted to make sure not to miss its main locations.

I didn't inform myself about where we were going, I was aiming to be astonished by facts I would learn over there. That being said, I found most interesting the fact that it is a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Isn't that amazing? Just like the Statue of Liberty, or Athens' Acropolis!

There were lots of great places to visit. Even houses from people actually living there! I have a funny short story about that: we were walking down the old city and since there were many houses meant for visitors we got used to crashing into places without asking. It so happens that when going into one of these houses an old lady pops out of a room and says: "What are you doing here? This is a private house." We were like "oh, sorry! We are so embarrassed!". She was very nice regardless of that, it looks like it wasn't the first time! We even took a picture with her and gave it to her after we printed it at the mall.

One of the places you definitly HAVE to visit if you ever go to Colonia is the harbor and the bullring, though the latter is unavailable for visitors because of safety issues. This is quite sad, since I really wanted to check it out.

We took lots of pics, but my friend has them, if I manage to lay my hands upon them I'll be posting them in no time.

Well, I got tired of writing. I'd love for you people to tell me if you have ever been to Colonia or Uruguay.

Later!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb