A day in Uruguay


Advertisement
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, I am on my own for a week or so. TJ has gone back to the US to celebrate her mum´s 60th and probably get a new set of cothes for Costa Rica! I decided to go to Colonia Del Sacramento in Uruguay for a day trip. It´s only one hour by ferry from Buenos Aires, and it was the chance of gettin another stamp on my passport.

The weather was superb in Colonia and I have an amazing set of pictures to prove it. The downside of travelling alone is that one has to depend on the kindness of strangers to be in the pictures themselves or become very good at using the self timer function (and hope that noone is going to make a dash for the camera at that point!).

I had a marvelloyus day, marred by the fact that I paid a ridiculous amount of money for food. This is the most expensive lunch I have had so far this trip and it was ok! The views of the Rio de la Plata are fabulous, and it was good to sit on a beach and top up the tan!

After sunset, a pea soup mist arose. It was intriguing to see the sun disappear so quickly and replaced by fog. Our ferry back got delayed, but thank god by only a few minutes. My heart sank when it was announced that the Puerto de Colonia està cerrado! I start Spanish lessons tomorrow and then leave for Costa Rica on 31 May. Hasta luego and our adventures will continue in a week!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb