Milestones


Advertisement
Published: May 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Boy's best friendBoy's best friendBoy's best friend

This photo came together right in front of me and I still find it such an "arresting" shot. Beautiful Uruguayan sunset.
It has been one week since I've been traveling and today I had a couple of milestones other than that one: I got my first sunburn of my trip and for the first time I was asked for directions. It kind of seems as if I have been traveling for longer than one week in some ways but I know time is fickle and it will play tricks on me. Being asked for directions always makes my day becuase it means that I blend in and look at least something like a local rather than a bumbling tourist. Even the sunburn was good, or at least worth it - I lay out all afternoon at the beach and had such a nice time in complete peace and beautiful weather. I then watched one of the most stunning sunsets of my entire life. Loads of photos to come at some point. I am in love with Uruguay and will stay here in Colonia de Sacramento for one more day - my new hostel (I changed today) loans bikes for free so I plan to ride tomorrow morning to a bullfighting ring and then head back to the beach to take in more sun before I go back to city life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



4th May 2009

photos of Uruguay
I can't wait to see your photos! Loved our "chat" earlier. May your tires always be pumped up!
4th May 2009

hey emily! i'm definitely going to be reading about your adventures this summer! i would love to do what you're doing, i've always wanted to take the same path around south america as che guevara. have an awesome time and hopefully see you around stu this fall!
5th May 2009

bikes! atta girl! i want to see the photos immediately. i'm sure that you will dress stylishly as well as it is the proper thing to do while riding a bike into a sunset.
6th May 2009

Have fun Em, noe i will have gone to SA via a neighbout!
7th May 2009

Lauren! I hope to be in Rosario, Argentina, where Che Guevara was born in not too long. I'll post my thoughts. What is new with you? I'll definitely see you at school come September. Ciao!
7th May 2009

So not the case - dressed so not stylishly! Bicycling was super fun, though. Fun even in zip away pants. Fun and practical, ha ha.
7th May 2009

Thanks for the good wishes, Vic! I hope all's well with you! SA continues to be awesome - loads more stories to come.
7th May 2009

WOW
Hello from Ottawa Emily. You are on quite the adventure I can see. I often talk to people that backpack around different places in the world and I am amazed at the places that they end up and find their stories interesting. I listen to what they tell me and can only imagine what a adventure it must be. It is hard to think of going off on a trip like that alone and never really knowing 100% where they may end up. I admire you willingness to explore this great world of ours and only wish I could have taken the time in my younger years and maybe tried what you are doing now. BEST of luck on your travels and be careful......Don't do anything I wouldn't do. If you follow that advice, you should have a BLAST!!! Take care and BE CAREFUL!!! :-) Cousin Adam xo
11th May 2009

Hi Adam! I am indeed having an amazing adventure - lots of smaller adventures all compiled into one massive one, really. I'm being careful too, of course. And you don't have to do this trip when you're a whippersnapper like me! Anyone can. Seriously. Just get a good backpack and head off. Thank you so much for the good wishes and thoughts!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb