I arrived in MVD


Advertisement
Published: March 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After a long and uneventful flight I landed at Carrasco International Airport - when they say international, well the terminal building is new and rather grand, but there were 2 big planes (one Iberia, the other from American Airline) when we landed - and a few small private jets. The same seems true for the city, from what I have seen so far. The Ramblas and Avenidas are quiet - well at least at the weekend and not many people are out either.

On Sundays all the shops are open. So Sabine, a colleague from the bank, showed me one of the shopping malls, where I had to buy a new handbag! She also showed me a good substitute for Starbucks right at the sea side where we had tea and cake. Later we even went for a short run along the beach. The weather is warm, but autumn is definitely in the air.

I do wish I spoke Spanish, people young or old, just don’t seem to speak any English. Reading is okish, but when they start explaining something I am pretty lost. Yeah well, maybe/hopefully I will find the time to learn at least the basics soon.

To give an idea of what it looks like over here, I have added a few pictures from the hotel and its surroundings. As you can see my "home" office is set up and works wonderfully thanks to the hotel's Wi-Fi.

Off for dinner now – tomorrow is the first big day in the office. No idea what is expecting me…. Bye bye for now…


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Tipical sidewalkTipical sidewalk
Tipical sidewalk

I am sure there were better times.... potholes are everywhere
Easter has arrivedEaster has arrived
Easter has arrived

very much Italian style


Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb