Monte Video and back


Advertisement
Published: November 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Palace SalvaPalace SalvaPalace Salva

The magnificant Palace Salva in Independence Square in Monte Video, a reminder of the affluent past; it is now residential apartments.
Thurs 1st Nov:
It´s hard to believe that I´m over half way through my trip already. It´s easy to lose track of time, one day slips into the next. I thought I would be much further south by this time. However, as my only real time schedule is my return date, it doesn´t really matter..
Yesterday I had a guided tour around Monte Video. There were only three others in the group, two Irish ladies and a Canadian. ´Though informative, not a very inspiring tour. Mind you it fitted in with the Uruguayan psyche, the country has suffered a lot and the peso crash in 2002 didn't help. ´Saw all the main sights and took lots of photos. 'Went back to the hostel and just had enough time to pack, check out and catch the bus to the coach terminal.
´Wasn´t unhappy about leaving Uruguay. 'Got the fast fery back to Buenos Aires ..... a much rougher ride than coming across. When I got my "land legs" in BA I looked into a coach trip down to Bahia Blanca. There are different classes of coach according to the comfort you require -economic (basic). semi cama (half reclining seat), cama (fully reclining
Parliament BuildingParliament BuildingParliament Building

This is a very ostentatious government building, the exterior and interior is biuilt with 17 different types of marble stone.
wide seat), luxury (full bed with all the trimmings). I went for the SC (semi cama), as I´m going to travel through Friday night.
I left my towel in the hostel in Colonia, so I went shopping to replace it .... it´s the little things that take time; trying to find a shop in BA that sells towels was a feat in itself. Anyway found one eventually! Lots of walking so had a meal and early night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Changing of the GuardChanging of the Guard
Changing of the Guard

I just arrived at the changing of the guard at the entrance of the Parliament Building.
Inside the Parliament BuildingInside the Parliament Building
Inside the Parliament Building

One of the many ornate rooms inside the building, the ceiling is done in wood and 24C gold leaf and the paintings on the walls depict scenes from Uruguay´s history.
Graffitti EverywhereGraffitti Everywhere
Graffitti Everywhere

Looking out through the main entrance door of parliament building you can see the roof of the medical school daubed with huge graffitti, saying to the government "what you promised us is a debt". In fact there was a lot of graffitti on many of the college, university and school buildings protesting about the low amount of money put into education.
The Garbage RecyclersThe Garbage Recyclers
The Garbage Recyclers

In Monte Video many of the garbage recyclers went round on horse and cart, they seemed to work day and night collecting and sorting out garbage to sell to recycling companies.


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb