The waterfalls of Junin, Rafting in Lunahuana


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
April 27th 2010
Published: April 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Of all the things they tell you not to chase, why waterfalls? They’re so peaceful and unapologetically alive, it’s beautiful. Figuratively I understand, its an important message to which we all need to listen: everyone from Mark David Chapman to Abimael Guzman to Jeff Skilling. But don’t take it literally: there is really so little in life more beautiful than waterfalls. Life is so precious: get off the couch, get off the computer 😉 and go see the world.

It’s so sad to look back and think of all my repeated mistakes and the same consequences of those mistakes: people being hurt, fun not being had. Listening is so important: always have empathy, always have integrity, never allow yourself to hurt the people who care about you. Discovering the beautiful things can be so amazing but if you don’t have friends with whom to share the journey it is so utterly pointless.

Lunahuana was great, lunch was paid for and delicious. I really want more ceviche and white water in my life. It was energizing as always: the almost falling out, the getting trapped in whirl pools, the almost getting your face whacked by the over hanging branches: it was beautiful. I hope we can all go someday!

What I should have recognized a decade ago is to appreciate what is given to you. When I was given lakes: I should have cherished the lakes; likewise with the rivers and waterfalls. Sometimes I think we all move to fast. I am reading that Polychlorinated Biphenyl, Polybrominated biphenyl, dioxins and dibenzofurans are present in the great lakes and Lake Ontario. I am reading that Americans eat about eight times more toxic chemicals in food than we breathe in the air or drink in the water.

Unfortunately I have no solutions: I just thought you should know. I’m way fuller of shit than Lake Ontario. Now I have one last thought: things can either be 1) fun; or 2) things can be boring, depressing and even have the potential of being sick and sinister: do the former, always.

Now I must go learn how to protect consumers from all the terrible microbes that live in our food. (its not their fault-they don’t know any better! The tiny little microbes are just doing what their genes tell them to do!!! But regardless they hurt people…and one thing I painfully learned in my experiments with absurdity is that hurting people is never funny) I even met a girl from Germany who was sociable and fun to talk to, so never give up hope.


I forever love you all, whether you want me to or not,
David


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb