Felled like Snow White


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
September 14th 2008
Published: September 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The looooong way upThe looooong way upThe looooong way up

(and that's only a tiny fraction of the climb!)
Gah! Just when I was really looking forward to the weekend, I have to fall wretchedly ill on Friday night. Really, Murphy, what's your problem - I could have taken or left work all week, but you have to knock me down when I'm all excited for hiking? Really???

After a lot of moaning and groaning in the morning I decided, with some encouragement and cajoling, to go anyhow, figuring that I would probably have a better time going out that lying about at home feeling sorry for myself all day. Which no doubt turned out to be true, but I certainly had the most exhausting hike of my poor little life to date - not only was I wrestling with my liquefied insides and the effects of a sleepless night, but we also climbed to an altitude of close to 3500m, about 300m higher than I am now (finally!) acclimatized to. Putting one foot in front of the other has never been such a challenge, and I include my double-digit miler runs in that statement!

Be that as it may, Guillermo, Joëlle and Kristen were very sweet and supportive, so I felt like I couldn't let them down by collapsing halfway to the top. And in the end, the view was spectacular - worth every painful step.

Later at lunch (which consisted of fabulous traditional fare for the other three, and an herbal tea for me! boo - ), Joëlle decided to join my club, after a fashion, by promptly having a seizure in the middle of the meal. It was a little frightening, although thankfully Guillermo caught her before she went down, and the whole episode didn't last long. So the two of us collapsed on the grass, much to the amusement of other restaurant patrons, and tried to deduce what on earth we had managed to do to ourselves, when we had been so hale and whole the day before. It's hard to know what's making you sick around here - you can't really pinpoint anything out of the ordinary, because everything is out of the ordinary! We nevertheless concluded that we were slain by either the apples or the soup we ate yesterday, neither of which Kristen had touched (smart girl!). I like to think it was the poisoned apples, but that's just the romantic in me.

Oh, what I wouldn't give right now for a home home-cooked meal, and for the luxury of gobbling up all the fresh produce my little tummy desires, without the fear of it knocking me prostrate at utterly inopportune times!

Advertisement



16th September 2008

AWWWWWW feel better muffinhead!

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb